Greetings from the Lowlands

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
buja

Greetings from the Lowlands

Post by buja »

I have been using Linux Mint (13 Maya) for a couple of months now and so far it's ok.Everything I need is there and works without any problems. I switched from Ubuntu because I didn't like the Unity interface and updates for my version stopped. Mint 13 should last for a couple of years.

What I like about Linux Mint is that is works right out of the box, including WiFi, full screen resolution, media support, etc. I write this on a Dell D430 laptop which also has Debian 6 on it. It took me some effort to get things working on Debian, but I managed.
My desktop computer is a HP that runs on Mint 13 as well (and still has Ubuntu on it). Yesterday I somehow destroyed the monitor setting on the HP, I lost the frequency and the screen went mad. By restarting and logging in as another user I could repair the broken file with the user monitor settings and now it works fine again.

Although Linux gives me a better feeling I can't get completely free from Windows. Apart from iTunes I also have Garmin Mapsource to control my satnav equipment. I once had Mapsource working under Ubuntu & Wine, but I could not connect to the satnav through the USB port. I will try again soon with Mint, tips are welcome.

By the way, the Lowlands means the Netherlands, or Holland, of course. I live 3 metres below sealevel, but I don't worry about wet feet.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
xenopeek
Level 25
Level 25

Re: Greetings from the Lowlands

Post by xenopeek »

Welcome aboard buja! Sounds like a challenge ahead with Wine, but good to read everything else worked for you out-of-the-box.