Moving to Mint in the Office!

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.

Moving to Mint in the Office!

Postby mr3do75 on Fri Feb 14, 2014 2:54 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm a pastor in a small church and running a one-person office where I can't spend tons on computer power. I went for a test-drive with Xubuntu and Mint, and here I am. If anybody has any suggestions on how to make Mint an office powerhouse, let me know. Great to be here with you all!

Bob
mr3do75
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Moving to Mint in the Office!

Postby Neil Edmond on Fri Feb 14, 2014 3:01 pm

Hello Bob,

Welcome to the Mint club! I don't have any further suggestions, but seems to me Mint is an office powerhouse right out-of-the-box. Is there anything special that you need to do that Mint seems weak in?
Neil Edmond
Level 3
Level 3

Postby The-Wizard on Fri Feb 14, 2014 3:02 pm

welcome to the mint family forums

wizard
asus M2N-MX board, AMD x2 6000 amd/ati graphics 4x1mb ddr2, 21" HD screen Mint 16-64 cinnamon
Acer ZG5 -peppermint dell 1545 mint 16-64

"I refuse to answer that question on the grounds that i don't know the answer " [Douglas Adams]
The-Wizard
Level 8
Level 8

Postby Crewp on Fri Feb 14, 2014 3:33 pm

Welcome to Linux Mint, and GBU pastor. :D
Crewp
Level 5
Level 5

Postby mr3do75 on Fri Feb 14, 2014 8:54 pm

Hi Neil,

I've been very happy so far with Mint's out-of-the-box power. I suppose what I'm looking for is an equivalent of Outlook for Windows, where I could have one program handling my schedule, email, and contact information. I'm using KOrganizer and Thunderbird right now, and they perform admirably, but I didn't know if there was another option out there. Even if there's not, I couldn't complain. The Mint community has a big fan. :D

Bob
mr3do75
Level 1
Level 1

Postby BlackVeils on Sat Feb 15, 2014 5:16 am

evolution or zimbra desktop, i dont know if the latter is free or not.