This stuff sure ain't Windows (saints be praised!)

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
disastrophe

This stuff sure ain't Windows (saints be praised!)

Post by disastrophe »

Hello everybody. My name is Anton, I am a noob :mrgreen: and I'm very happy to be here. I have recently made a clean break with m$ after many long years of cleaning up their messes. Not sure why it took me so long, especially considering how dramatically my annoyance level has decreased since making the switch. I've been using a couple of different distros for about two months now. I tried openSuSe for a bit but it seemed too beta-ish, especially for a noob such as myself. I tried Kubuntu for a couple of weeks but it had a couple of annoyances I didn't care for. I am currently using Isadora, Xubuntu and Ubuntu Gnome in a multi boot configuration. Ultimately I want to end up with one Gnome, one Xfce and one KDE partition. I just added Isadora yesterday, got it all settled in now and I am very impressed. All networking and multimedia has worked flawlessly once the appropriate packages were installed, it took much less work than even Ubuntu(which wasn't bad at all) to get things happy. No probs with full screen 3D stuff either. It seems to have all the strengths of Ubuntu and more - elegant is a good word to describe Mint.
I got all the Compiz eye candy going, Emerald window decorations, 3D cylinder, AWN, etc. Not a single prob, it's freaking gorgeous, runs very light, stable and fast, fast, fast.
The boot time could be SLIGHTLY improved but I haven't had grub do a profile yet so the jury is still out on that, I wanted to make sure all the drivers I'll be using and so forth are in place first. That's a minor issue anyway since I usually don't reboot very often anyway.