Hello there.

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
soreil

Hello there.

Post by soreil »

This would've been my first post if the LMDE Desktop thread didn't steal away my attention. I have been using Mint for about 4 months now and finally decided to get a little bit more involved in the community behind it. I first started using the GNU/Linux operating system in late 2009 when my interest in computers had outgrown only the hardware side and software became more interesting to me. I first installed Debian which I failed horribly at(couldn't recognize HDDs). A few weeks later I decided I wanted to try it again, I got myself a cheap Netbook and installed Ubuntu on it. I loved it instantly(hey it had XP on it when I started) especially the fact that I had so much freedom in doing whatever I wanted. I tried out A LOT of different distros in the months following that and eventually ended using Mint 9 which I am still running on that tiny Netbook. Because of my good experiences with Mint 9 and the fact that I wanted to get rid of Windows on my desktop I started looking for a desktop operating system that would fit my needs. I always since day 1 liked the idea of Debian and when I started to read about Mint based on Debian I was immediately interested. I have only been using this for about 24 hours now but already love it, especially the fact that it is so much like the main edition.

Well that is how I ended up here. The main things I do these days luckily all have great GNU/Linux versions many of which are unrivaled in other operating systems imo (Comix for my manga, Mplayer for movies etc etc). This is barely an introduction of myself a person but lets keep it to this : just google Otaku.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
dawgdoc