Just realized I never posted a "real" introduction...

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
ImaginaryFriend

Just realized I never posted a "real" introduction...

Post by ImaginaryFriend »

I don't think my Dear John letter to Ubuntu counts as an actual introduction, since it consists mostly of my attempt to make with teh funneh about my switch from one of my favorite OSs to one I like even more. And I totally neglected a chance to talk about me, me, me! Unlike me at all. So here goes.

My name is Rob, and I'm a speculative fiction writer, a webcomicer, a martial artist, a web geek, and burden on society. Ubuntu converted me to full-time Linux, and Mint won me away with Julia RC--I'll be making the actual switch the day of Julia's final release, but am considering LMDE after it has matured a bit.

I like cultural anthropology, Science Fiction, the sciences in general (my library includes Hawking, Feynman, and Kaku, among others), old fashioned paper-pencil-and-dice RPGs, and turn-based strategy games like Battle For Wesnoth and the Civ series. Thanks to my wife, I'm also becoming a Hockey fan (Go, Flyers!), a console Gamer (So far I've only played DragonQuest VIII and Persona 3, but I'm getting addicted.), and an anime/manga fan. (Serial Experiment Lane rocks.)

I've been (professionally) a soldier, a comedian, a webcomicer (the comic is on indefinite hiatus, though), an tabletop/LARP RPG developer (that was only semi-pro), a rock singer, a web columnist for the local paper, a webmonkey, a construction worker, a help line call center supervisor, a disk jockey/video jockey, manager of a sound, lighting, and SPFX company, and a food service worker, among other things. In other words, I've been semi-successful at a wide range of careers before crashing and burning at them. Contrary to popular belief, though, I have never been a deep-space mercenery.
:-D