Forgot to introduce myself

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.

Forgot to introduce myself

Postby Jix on Sun Jan 16, 2011 9:08 am

Hi,

I'm a translator (Polish/French > English) and I own http://www.gameobserver.com. Needless to say, I spend most of my days in front of the computer. I started thinking about using Linux 2 years ago after XP became unbearable for me. When installing my own crap-free XP version I had to slipstream SATA drviers, and other drivers were a veritable puzzle to install from scratch (it's a laptop). Sound drivers alone required 8 different things to get working. The OS was slow and always required fixing, so I decided to give Linux a go. I asked my brother which Linux distro he recommended and he categorically said Mint. He's a system's integrator at Ericsson so I took his word for it, but still decided to try other distros to be sure (Mandrivan, Mepis, Ubuntu, Debian, OpenSUSE) only to realize Mint really was the best. It's got the most commonly used stuff out of the box.

My first Mint was 8 - by far the best one for my prissy laptop (nx9420). I have since then discovered Win 7, which is far better than XP could ever hope to be, but I always have a dual boot setup. I haven't completely switched to Mint because of overheating issues, but I feel safer knowing I have a second OS ready for work in case the other one goes down. I managed to convince one other person to check out Mint and only hope more people switch to Linux. The more people use it, the better support we'll have.

Having said that, I hope future versions of Mint have flashier components, like Docky and Emerald menus, out of the box. Thanks for the great product!
Jix
Level 2
Level 2

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Forgot to introduce myself

Postby tdockery97 on Sun Jan 16, 2011 1:53 pm