Hello there

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Fusix

Hello there

Post by Fusix »

Hi. Fusix here. I'm a music producer that dabbles in a bit of artwork and coding occasionally.

[WARNING: Long Post]

I recently got a new Win7 laptop. I wanted XP, but I had no choice with this particular machine.
It is a HP and there is malware all over it, installed by HP. That is according to my anti-virus anyway.

I build computers sometimes, so I kind of know what I am doing, but this machine is just terrible.
I have spent days trouble shooting individual issues only for another to crop up. It is also quite slow -
It's a triple core 1.8GHz, so it shouldn't be. The software is virtually impossible to remove and it looks like
I am going to have to buy a new copy of Win7 to do some kind of 'nLited' install on here, as I only got a
'recovery' disk with the machine.

It is an AMD Phenom II processor - 64-bit and the Windows I have is of the 64-bit Professional variety.
4 Gb or RAM with a 7200 RPM Hard Disk. There really is no excuse for such sluggishness, with specs
like that!

Ok, enough whinging. The only reason I mention this is to show my motives and rationale about wanting to
get into Linux. I stumbled across Mint almost by accident - quite randomly in fact. But I am glad I did.

I have a special machine running winXP for my music production. It works like a dream and I am quite happy
with it. No other OS works with the programs I have, so I am stuck with it, so it is just as well.
As for just general use and surfing the net, Win7 would be fine, but it just doesn't work properly. I know lots
of Music producers are using it for all kinds of stuff and they are very happy with it. But there are more unhappy
people in regard to it, and I'm one of them. The bloat and rubbish that HP install these days made my eyes