Boots to windows @sses!

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Draeghonov

Boots to windows @sses!

Post by Draeghonov »

Hey everyone,
by the tite you may have noticed that I'm a fan of Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson...
I just couldn't think of a more suitable title to describe how the transition from windows 7 to Lisa has been :wink:

You see,
I'm a regular 37 year old guy from Almere in the Netherlands, I repair and paint cars for a living, have 2 cats and a wife.
Now, when I get home from work, I want to hop on the internet to see what's up in the world and therefore I need a computer.
Yes, I have a smartphone, but I'm too much of a cheapskate to have an internetbundle in my subscription :lol:
So I can only go online @home or in the mall, where they have (free) WiFi.

My cheapskate-ism doesn't stop there:
my pc is a pile of parts gathered by one of my brothers.
The specs:

MSI mobo
Intel Pentium 4 3.4 GHz Hyper threading (yup, I'm a single core n00b)
4 GB RAM~ sort of, due to malfunctioning it has damaged one slot
NVidia 8800 GTS 1024

I think that covers the basics.
Now, My problem was that my pc needed about 6-9 RESTARTS..... per session :(
It constantly crashed, BSOD's were soo freaking random, it wasn't funny anymore...
When the power supply decided to fry itself, I bought a new one, and got one of my brothers to help me out to get my pc up and running again.
The result was a very instable system, running on only 2GB RAM, because more was enough to crash the thing...
We installed W7, and updated it for good measure, so the system would be ready to go.
All was well, until one of the updates was corrupted. It happened before, that was the reason for me not to update my pc in the past, so I was lucky to have made a backup when the system was on a "good" point.

Last week however, the pc decided not to do anything at all.