Install KDE-full

deb http://debian.linuxmint.com

Install KDE-full

Postby amandus on Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:54 pm

I have LMDE gnome with the latest 3 pack and changed repositories like it was written, I whant to install KDE-full but I get error of dependencies :shock:
amandus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:29 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby zerozero on Thu Oct 27, 2011 1:04 pm

can you please provide us more details:
- exactly what are your repos
Code: Select all
inxi -r

- what are those deps errors you get? the terminal output when you do
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install kde-full
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby amandus on Thu Oct 27, 2011 1:10 pm

Repos: Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free
Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/dropbox.list
deb http://linux.dropbox.com/ubuntu maverick main
amandus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:29 am

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby zerozero on Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:03 pm

that answers part of the question, the repos are latest as they should, now what are the errors you get?
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby amandus on Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:16 am

Läser paketlistor... Färdig
Bygger beroendeträd
Läser tillståndsinformation... Färdig
Några paket kunde inte installeras. Det kan betyda att du har begärt
en omöjlig situation eller, om du använder den instabila utgåvan
att några nödvändiga paket ännu inte har skapats eller flyttats
ut från "Incoming".
Följande information kan vara till hjälp för att lösa situationen:

Följande paket har beroenden som inte kan tillfredsställas:
kde-full : Beroende av: kdepim (>= 4:4.4.11) men det kommer inte att installeras
E: Trasiga paket
amandus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:29 am

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby tdockery97 on Fri Oct 28, 2011 1:27 pm

Well, I have the kdepim 4.4.11 available in package manager, but my system is pointed to the Debian Testing repositories. It may not be available yet in the Mint Incoming repositories. Maybe it's a package that will be coming in your next update pack.
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon
HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
Registered Linux User #520972
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4742
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby andrew5859 on Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:50 am

I have the same problem when trying to install kde-full.....my errors are: The following packages have unmet dependencies:
kde-full : Depends: kdemultimedia (>= 4:4.6.3) but it is not going to be installed
Recommends: kde-standard (>= 5:70) but it is not going to be installed
E: Broken packages
but package manager shows no broken packages, and it goes into other dependencies beyond these two...like xine, libxine1, dragonplayer...etc.. What can I do and how do I go about doing it...help?


Andrew
Dell Latitude D810/2.26Ghz Intel/2GB Crucial/250GB WD/nVidia Quadro FX 1400 256MB/Intel Pro Wireless 2200BG
Win7 Bus 32 bit/LMDE-Sid-MATE 32/64 Tracking Sid


Image
User avatar
andrew5859
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:58 pm
Location: Boardman, Ohio USA

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby zerozero on Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:21 am

andrew, are you on latest or testing?

on testing you shouldn't get this error, unless the pkgs are on the move and there's at the moment some kind of dependency loop;

in latest, yes, kde-full has some kind of issue with multimedia, you need first to make sure that your repos are according to this viewtopic.php?f=185&t=82346 and then install kde-standard (but be aware that with kde-standard you only have a minimum working kde desktop without the major apps, those you have to install later through synaptic), but it can be fun, you building your own desktop as you need.

but to be 100% sure post here the output of
Code: Select all
inxi -r
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby andrew5859 on Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:46 pm

Hey zerozero;

I think I'm on both....here are the results from inxi -r:

andrew@lmde ~ $ inxi -r
Repos: Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo
deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org wheezy main non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org sid main non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org experimental main non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free
andrew@lmde ~ $

Is there specific repos I should have in order for this to work right.....the LMDE DVD I used was linuxmint-201108-gome-32bit-rc.iso......I think it's because this DVD was an rc. I wonder if I have an earlier version.....I appreciate your help....waiting for clarification...cheers

Andrew
Dell Latitude D810/2.26Ghz Intel/2GB Crucial/250GB WD/nVidia Quadro FX 1400 256MB/Intel Pro Wireless 2200BG
Win7 Bus 32 bit/LMDE-Sid-MATE 32/64 Tracking Sid


Image
User avatar
andrew5859
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:58 pm
Location: Boardman, Ohio USA

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby zerozero on Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:20 pm

:shock:
andrew compare your repos with what should be the default set of repos in a LMDE install pointing to latest

Code: Select all
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free

you have multimedia from latest, wheezy, sid and experimental
and security is not in the mint mirrored repos

if you have been dist-upgrading the system with those repos enabled, i'm afraid there's some pkg mismatch already in there (you have pkgs from sid in a testing install) and those errors are going to popup.

there's not an easy way around that:
- either you wait that your install catches the packages you have installed from sid- but that can take ages;
- or you bump your install to sid- and risk to break it very quickly;
- or reinstall and start fresh;
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby andrew5859 on Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:35 pm

What do you think is the best to go....?
Dell Latitude D810/2.26Ghz Intel/2GB Crucial/250GB WD/nVidia Quadro FX 1400 256MB/Intel Pro Wireless 2200BG
Win7 Bus 32 bit/LMDE-Sid-MATE 32/64 Tracking Sid


Image
User avatar
andrew5859
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:58 pm
Location: Boardman, Ohio USA

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby zerozero on Thu Dec 01, 2011 8:36 pm

ohh :shock: andrew that is a tough one! nobody can make the call for you;

the 2 most viable options are:
- reinstall (but of course it all depends of the tweaks and customizations you already have in that system)
- bump the install to sid (but sid can be a very naughty boy some times and you need strong hands to handle it)

only you can really decide that :)
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby andrew5859 on Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:29 pm

Would you happen to have the repo address for sid.....thank you for your help, greatly appreciated....cheers


Andrew
Dell Latitude D810/2.26Ghz Intel/2GB Crucial/250GB WD/nVidia Quadro FX 1400 256MB/Intel Pro Wireless 2200BG
Win7 Bus 32 bit/LMDE-Sid-MATE 32/64 Tracking Sid


Image
User avatar
andrew5859
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:58 pm
Location: Boardman, Ohio USA

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby wayne128 on Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:01 am

andrew5859 wrote:Would you happen to have the repo address for sid.....thank you for your help, greatly appreciated....cheers


Andrew



Andrew, I often refer to craigevil's post when I forget Sid repos or other repos that are in his giant list ( his signature)
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php? ... 77#p379737

However, one important thing you should know , KDE4.7.2 is coming to Sid and it can create havoc...

EDIT::WARNING: more reports of SID breaking things like media players, samba, etc
DO not update SID now,,, wait , and wait.


So I suggest you DO NOT d-u with Sid until you have some insurance policies :lol: .
my insurance policies are:
1. Clone my Sid partition ( to USB external drive), so that I can reinstall within 10-20 minute if d-u break things
2. I have multiboot, so one partition breaks, I have a few more running :mrgreen:
3. Always check out two places that have warning.
3a, aptosid forum has a Upgrade Warnings section, a must read for me ( because I run Debian Sid , aptosid and LMDE-Sid :mrgreen: )
http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... viewforum&
f=3&sid=2274add0ac79c4e2cac9eb5e65337369

Click to see for yourself and KDE 4.7 is one of the top list.
wayne128
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2806
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby andrew5859 on Sat Dec 03, 2011 1:41 am

Hey wayne......Sorry, already installed and updated sid on my LMDE_KDE......the only problem I've had since upgrading was that nepomuk kept giving me a popup window every 3 minutes........so by suggestion by GregE, I disabled the nepokuk in settings manager. Right now, everything is ok and was the only way I could get kde-full on my LMDE install.....I kept getting dependancy issues when I went to go a different way. If in fact, I run into any difficulties or major regressions, I'll reinstall and go from there.....I wouldn't have lost anything....this is a learning experience for me and I've been dealing with linux for I think 6 to 8 years starting with Ubuntu 6. I've messed with Fedora, OpenSuse, Mandriva, Kubuntu, then I found LinuxMint 8 Helena, then LM 9 Isadora....stuck with that for a couple of years, then moved to LMDE. I'm @ 4.6.5-1to 4.6.5-3 in some areas, 4.7.1-1 in others.....in all aspects, I'll keep an eye on things and make sure I don't go any further than I've gone....I will, however, keep in touch to let you all know what's happening. Curiosity got the best of me and the urge to be adventurous while I was waiting for an answer....sorry....cheers

Andrew
Dell Latitude D810/2.26Ghz Intel/2GB Crucial/250GB WD/nVidia Quadro FX 1400 256MB/Intel Pro Wireless 2200BG
Win7 Bus 32 bit/LMDE-Sid-MATE 32/64 Tracking Sid


Image
User avatar
andrew5859
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:58 pm
Location: Boardman, Ohio USA

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby andrew5859 on Sat Dec 03, 2011 1:52 am

zerozero wrote:ohh :shock: andrew that is a tough one! nobody can make the call for you;

the 2 most viable options are:
- reinstall (but of course it all depends of the tweaks and customizations you already have in that system)
- bump the install to sid (but sid can be a very naughty boy some times and you need strong hands to handle it)

only you can really decide that :)



Well zz, I did make a choice as you can see from my last post I made to wayne.....like I said, I will keep in touch in here and keep everyone informed as to what happens :) I will ask for advice or help along the way, if anything else, reinstall and start from scratch again, it's a learning experience....cheers


Andrew
Dell Latitude D810/2.26Ghz Intel/2GB Crucial/250GB WD/nVidia Quadro FX 1400 256MB/Intel Pro Wireless 2200BG
Win7 Bus 32 bit/LMDE-Sid-MATE 32/64 Tracking Sid


Image
User avatar
andrew5859
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 12:58 pm
Location: Boardman, Ohio USA

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby zaenalarifin on Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:54 am

if : "file.deb" (>= 4:4.6.3) but it is not going to be installed
then I use: Open a terminal (as root), write gdebi -n /location_file.deb
or I use: open synaptic remove the "file.deb"(size=0 bit) and install again ..
and cange file in /etc/apt/sources.list with :
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free
and re-fresh
zaenalarifin
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:54 am

Re: Install KDE-full

Postby wayne128 on Sat Dec 03, 2011 10:51 am

Right now, everything is ok and was the only way I could get kde-full on my LMDE install.....I kept getting dependancy issues when I went to go a different way. If in fact, I run into any difficulties or major regressions, I'll reinstall and go from there.... Curiosity got the best of me and the urge to be adventurous while I was waiting for an answer....sorry....cheers


@Andrew,
nice to see you get into Sid playing with first success..
Just remember Sid can be naughty at time and want to remove half of the OS.

May be take a look on craigevil's method of dist-upgrade,
Read somewhere that his Debain KDE-sid has lasted more than 5 years without reinstall :mrgreen:
viewtopic.php?f=141&t=73956&p=436696#p436696
wayne128
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2806
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Update Packs Repositories

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests