Repositories and firefox

deb http://debian.linuxmint.com

Repositories and firefox

Postby khaos on Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:16 am

Hi guys after the update pack I've not seen other updates. I still have firefox 5 and I don't know if it is correct option to add external repos for that. Is there any update for Firefox in repos?

My repositories:

deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free


I must add or edit something?

Thanks in advance
khaos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:34 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby Roken on Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:32 am

Iceweasel 8 (unbranded firefox) is available in the Debian experimental repositories:

Code: Select all
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian experimental main
deb-src http://ftp.debian.org/debian experimental main


You will also find icedove V8 (unbranded Thunderbird) there, too, should you want it. Both are working fine here, and have been for several weeks.
Kernel Linux Tex 3.2.2-1 (64 bit) xfce , burg
Arch
ATI Radeon HD 4670, 1GB
OSS4
AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked)
8Gb RAM
Image
User avatar
Roken
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Oldham, UK

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby khaos on Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:38 am

Nice thanks. But one question: Why linux mint debian edition has preinstalled Firefox and not Iceweasel? Thanks
Is there any way to get and the latest firefox too? (sorry 2 questions :P)
khaos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby Roken on Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:45 am

You'd have to ask the devs regarding their choice, I can't answer that, sorry.

Anyway, if you have an aversion to iceweasel (you shouldn't, it's identical to firefox in all but name and the menu icon) you can actually get FF8 running without installing it.

Download from Mozilla, and extract the archive wherever you want. Suppose you extract it to your home directory, you can run it with:

Code: Select all
sh ~/firefox/firefox


Or, alternatively, extract it to /opt which should make it available just by running

Code: Select all
firefox
Kernel Linux Tex 3.2.2-1 (64 bit) xfce , burg
Arch
ATI Radeon HD 4670, 1GB
OSS4
AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked)
8Gb RAM
Image
User avatar
Roken
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Oldham, UK

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby zerozero on Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:50 am

you have here http://mozilla.debian.net/ another option;
you can even choose the release, beta or aurora v. (attention that any v. than release might be unstable)

in this situation add this to your sources.list
Code: Select all
deb http://backports.debian.org/debian-backports squeeze-backports main
deb http://mozilla.debian.net/ squeeze-backports iceweasel-release

and then
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install -t squeeze-backports iceweasel
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6484
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby khaos on Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:27 pm

Thanks. I have the latest Iceweasel now and the Firefox 5. Is there any way to add external mozilla repo in order to have the latest version without compiling or downloading manually? Thanks
khaos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby Roken on Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:53 pm

If you added the Debian experimental repository it should update automatically. If you downloaded then you will have to re-download when it updates (though FF will usually tell you that an update is available)
Kernel Linux Tex 3.2.2-1 (64 bit) xfce , burg
Arch
ATI Radeon HD 4670, 1GB
OSS4
AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked)
8Gb RAM
Image
User avatar
Roken
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Oldham, UK

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby zerozero on Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:07 pm

well, it all depends which method you used, what v. number you have and what you want;

in these two options here (the experimental debian repo and the mozilla.debian) iceweasel will be updated automatically as Roken said.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6484
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby khaos on Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:37 pm

Thanks for that I have added the iceweasel repo. What is the repo for the mozilla firefox (not iceweasel) repo?
khaos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby karashata on Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:54 pm

Debian doesn't supply Firefox or Thunderbird with their official brand names due to Mozilla's use of non-free artwork, and Mozilla requires that the official artwork be used in order to use the official branding. So, instead, Debian ships Iceweasel and Icedove to remove the non-free artwork and comply with Mozilla's branding requirements. Other than that, they're identical in every way (at least, as far as I know and can tell).

Firefox and Thunderbird in LMDE are supplied by the Mint devs and are not officially a part of Debian. Mint probably supplies them with the official branding in part because the names are more easily recognized than Iceweasel and Icedove, and in part because they make Mint-specific modifications to the default configuration (at least to Firefox) so they're maintaining their own packages anyway.
Linux Mint user since 2010, fluffy dragon forever!
Registered Linux User #473695
Image
User avatar
karashata
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:53 pm
Location: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby khaos on Tue Nov 29, 2011 4:35 am

Thanks for your answer. I know about the names... but so? Is a way to add an external repo for Firefox? I have the repo for Iceweasel. But I need AND firefox too..
Thanks.
khaos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby Arran on Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:21 am

How can someone have the urgent drive to use Firefox/Thunderbird AND Iceweasel/Icedove at the same time? :?: :?: :?:
Best greetings from Scotlands nicest Holiday Isle
Image
OS: Mint12 KDE, Graphic: Nvidia I4800-GS, Monitor: HP LP2065, «Broadband» Ø 50kib/sec!!!
User avatar
Arran
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:24 am

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby Roken on Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:40 am

For absolute clarity, and for the avoidance of any doubt:

Iceweasel IS Firefox with a different icon and name.
Kernel Linux Tex 3.2.2-1 (64 bit) xfce , burg
Arch
ATI Radeon HD 4670, 1GB
OSS4
AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked)
8Gb RAM
Image
User avatar
Roken
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Oldham, UK

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby khaos on Tue Nov 29, 2011 4:24 pm

I want to have both of them, because I use 2 browsers and I don't want to use Chrome. Anyway I will add an external repo and I see
Thanks
khaos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby karashata on Tue Nov 29, 2011 4:38 pm

I may be wrong, but I believe there would be conflicts between Firefox and Iceweasel, due to Iceweasel still using the Firefox desktop entries and user settings folders.

Also, why do you need two broswers, and, more importantly, why would you need two versions of essentially the exact same browser (aside from the name and artwork, exactly the same)? Why wouldn't you just open more than one window of any one browser? (You do know they can still do that, don't you?)

Having two different browsers (ie. Firefox and Chrome) is all well and good, one browser may do things slightly different/better than the other, but having two of *the same browser* (aside from naming and artwork, ie. Firefox and Iceweasel) seems kinda pointless.

Then again, if you need to be logged into the same site on two different accounts, I could see an argument for two different browsers, however, Iceweasel and Firefox wouldn't work for the reason I stated above (using the same user settings folder). You would need to create a separate profile for each version, in which case you could still get away with only one version installed anyway and just launch two different sessions of it using two different profiles... (Someone else would have to go into detail about how to do that, I don't offhand know since I'm only one user on one computer and only need one profile... Some information here, here, here (though it's written for Windows), and here might be useful...)
Linux Mint user since 2010, fluffy dragon forever!
Registered Linux User #473695
Image
User avatar
karashata
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 2:53 pm
Location: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby zerozero on Tue Nov 29, 2011 4:51 pm

to be honest, i think we are just walking in circles:
1- we still don't know which method (if any) khaos used to get iceweasel;
2- we don't know what version he has installed;
3- as karashata pointed out, use for example FF5 (the default browser) and any of the newly iceweasel versions at the same time won't work (as far as i know);

at least until we know point 1 and 2, i think all the rest is useless.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6484
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby khaos on Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:08 am

I want to use the latest Firefox 8.0.1 and to update it with an external mozilla repository. It doens't conflict with Iceweasel which installed with debian repos. I use different profile folders :)
khaos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby Roken on Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:05 am

Your reply still doesn't explain why you want to be able to run 2 separate builds of what is essentially the same software, and more out of curiosity than anything I'd still like to know why :D

Having said that, it's your system and your Linux so you are, of course, free to do what you want with it and I'm glad you found a solution to your particular issue.
Kernel Linux Tex 3.2.2-1 (64 bit) xfce , burg
Arch
ATI Radeon HD 4670, 1GB
OSS4
AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked)
8Gb RAM
Image
User avatar
Roken
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Oldham, UK

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby khaos on Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:06 pm

I have installed Iceweasel via repositories. So, I have the lmde dev's ff 5 (that was preinstalled) and I use both of them like a charm with seperate user dirs. I just asked If I can update the FF too in the latest version because I have some troubles with some plugins in version 5.

I use 2 browsers because I have some double accounts in some sites and I don't like cookie chaning etc or some plugins. Also I don't like to use another web browser for now due to some specific plugins I use.
I know about Iceweasel==Firefox but if I find a way to have 2 Iceweasels :P it will be ok. I don't think that I'm doing something wrong. It's just my choise not to use 1 browser with cookie/account changing.

So, I thought that a good idea is to have repos for both Iceweasel and an external mozilla repo for FF.
khaos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Repositories and firefox

Postby Roken on Wed Nov 30, 2011 3:30 pm

OK, if it's just a case of running 2 instances with different profiles, here's how:

Using a terminal, start iceweasel in the profile manager mode:

Code: Select all
iceweasel --profilemanager


And create the profiles that you want. Give them sensible names, and make one as default. For the purposes of demonstration I'll refer to them as "primary" and "secondary" where primary is the default. Close the profile manager (don't start iceweasel from it).

Now start iceweasel normally, which should load with the primary profile.

In a terminal (you can create a launcher to do this if you want)

Code: Select all
iceweasel -P secondary --no-remote


This will launch a second instance of iceweasel using the secondary profile. Mission accomplished :)

Note: You can use the same method with icedove to manage multiple email profiles. Also works with Firefox, Thunderbird etc.
Kernel Linux Tex 3.2.2-1 (64 bit) xfce , burg
Arch
ATI Radeon HD 4670, 1GB
OSS4
AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked)
8Gb RAM
Image
User avatar
Roken
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Oldham, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Update Packs Repositories

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest