We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free
deb-src http://debian.linuxmint.com/incoming testing main contrib non-free
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby zerozero on Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:13 am

@turris, i believe that, once update-pack3 is considered good to go to latest those repos will already be mirrored, just my opinion of course, but it makes all the sense.
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6471
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby P.Kosunen on Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:36 pm

P.Kosunen wrote:Gnome remote desktop stopped working after todays update pack.


http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=639088

It was this bug.

~/.config/autostart/vino-server.desktop :
Code: Select all
AutostartCondition=GSettings org.gnome.Vino enabled


Commented out AutostartCondition line as workaround.
P.Kosunen
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 12:26 pm

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby viking777 on Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:54 am

I will put this post here because I see someone else had the same problem earlier on, but I didn't pick up on what the fix was.

I now have two versions of LMDE a 64bit originally tracking 'incoming' which I have successfully changed to 'testing' and a 32bit which I have this morning changed from 'testing' to 'incoming' but this isn't successful, every time I update I get the following warning:

Failed to fetch http://packages.linuxmint.com/debian/di ... 6/Packages 404 Not Found
Failed to fetch http://packages.linuxmint.com/debian/di ... 6/Packages 404 Not Found
Some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used instead.


The relevant line in sources.list is:

deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import backport romeo


Which seems to work everywhere else I have used it, so why not here?

I have installed mintupdate-debian, btw.

Edit. I have solved this now. I actually had packages.linuxmint.com listed twice in sources.list. When I deleted the second one the warnings go away. Though I have no idea why this should be, I would have thought that if the same address is listed twice then it would be checked for updates twice, but apparently not.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby aljoriz on Sun Sep 18, 2011 2:16 pm

Installed the september respin. Tried changing the repo to point to INCOMING but download the update pack takes more than 8hours??! :roll:

Im from the philippines.
aljoriz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:50 pm
Location: Cebu City, Philippines

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby aljoriz on Sun Sep 18, 2011 2:34 pm

Download speed has improved by using synaptic and going to preference> pull down the mint server button and choose the best server then try and enabling the "mark all button" on synaptic to make updating via incoming more manageable.
aljoriz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:50 pm
Location: Cebu City, Philippines

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby xircon on Sun Sep 18, 2011 2:39 pm

aljoriz wrote:Installed the september respin. Tried changing the repo to point to INCOMING but download the update pack takes more than 8hours??! :roll:

Im from the philippines.


I have a lot of things installed (Gnome, KDE and XFCE) and update pack 3 for me was huge, but 8 hours seems a bit ridiculous! What is it down to now? Think mine took a couple of hours to install from start to finish, but was doing other things, so can't be sure.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby aljoriz on Sun Sep 18, 2011 3:05 pm

2-3hours I guess no sleep for me today
aljoriz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:50 pm
Location: Cebu City, Philippines

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby aljoriz on Sun Sep 18, 2011 7:14 pm

Finally installed ... I noticed foomatic something was with held for update. Is this correct for incoming?
aljoriz
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:50 pm
Location: Cebu City, Philippines

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby zerozero on Sun Sep 18, 2011 8:00 pm

yes aljoriz, foomatic-db-engine is on hold in incoming, not to worry about :)
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6471
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby craig10x on Sun Sep 18, 2011 9:47 pm

i'm on the default "latest" update packs...waiting for the release from "incoming"...
was curious....did you have to change your sources before updating? (Clem mentions that "latest" will need to do that before installing update pack 3 and that he is trying to set it to switch over automatically)...

also, how many updates are there in pack3? and i was also curious...any updates to the kernel?
craig10x
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby wayne128 on Mon Sep 19, 2011 12:30 am

craig10x wrote:i'm on the default "latest" update packs...waiting for the release from "incoming"...
was curious....did you have to change your sources before updating? (Clem mentions that "latest" will need to do that before installing update pack 3 and that he is trying to set it to switch over automatically)...

also, how many updates are there in pack3? and i was also curious...any updates to the kernel?


yes, kernel will be upgraded to 3, after upgrade to pack3

viewtopic.php?f=187&t=80386&p=466800#p466943

how many update? I remember in range of high 300 to 400. read this
viewtopic.php?f=187&t=80386&start=20#p467329
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3317
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby craig10x on Mon Sep 19, 2011 1:40 am

Thank you, wayne :)
craig10x
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby baiki on Wed Sep 21, 2011 6:16 am

grizzler wrote:
wayne128 wrote:Reboot, test USB drive again. no more kernel panic, great to see it resolved.

Hate to disappoint you, but it isn't. Not for me anyway. When I safely remove my external hd, the kernel panics just as before.

I started at the other end of the list this time (i.e. I clicked and selected safely remove on an icon of one of the ext4 partitions). It seemed to go well at first, but then an error was reported about not being able to remove/dismount the (only) NTFS partition because it was busy (which it wasn't). I tried safely remove on that partition's icon (the only one still showing up on the desktop) and poof!

So it seems an external hd with more than one partition and at least one NTFS partition can still not be safely removed normally.

Hello,
I do experience the same (well, almost). Got several ext. USB HDD's but one always gives panic. I realised that this particular WD harddisc goes very very fast to "sleep" mode. If I try to safely remove this "dormant" device, kernel panic. Others are fine. Now, today I used my ext. CD/DVD writer and guess what... after burning an ISO, Brasero tried to eject disc after successfull operation and... kernel panic. But this time a simple ALT-F7 did the trick.
Any solutions for this issue?
Baiki
baiki
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 6:01 am

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby Ralf1e on Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:14 pm

This bright idea seems to have trashed my LMDE 64 bit system update manager which disappears when I tell it it can remove the 5 packages it wants to take off and replace them with 56 others. Nice work chaps. I hope this is still going to be usable or I may end up out of business :-)
Ralf1e
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 2:58 am

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby zerozero on Wed Sep 28, 2011 7:34 pm

Ralf1e, can you be more specific about the problem you are facing? in what circumstances that happened? updating to UP3? MU disappeared, can't you open it again? did you try to reboot and try again? the error still persists?

last but not least if you try
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
what is the output
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6471
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby jompa89 on Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:52 am

This might not be a problem but I have a feeling that there is to few updates coming to my system. When I ran apt-get dist-upgrade after two weeks of not updating there was only two updates. Is this right? I got the impression that there would be more updates in the incoming repo.
Norwegian jornalist student who have used linux since 2008.
User avatar
jompa89
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:37 pm
Location: Bergen, Norway

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby grizzler on Fri Oct 21, 2011 5:39 am

No, the incoming repo also uses update packs and the last one (#3) was over a month ago. I'm considering going back to Testing...
grizzler
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby posco on Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:00 pm

Does anyone have the repos that we need to move over to Testing as opposed to the Incoming that I am on now?
posco
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 9:46 am

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby wyrdoak on Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:04 pm

-Dell Mini Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(Maya-Xfce) LInux 3.2.0.57-generic(i686)
SolydX (32bit)
User avatar
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: We need more testers to the new incoming repo (how-to)

Postby zerozero on Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:10 pm

posco, just before you do the jump :lol: what kind of graphics card you use? if it's nvidia, i don't advice to go to testing atm, xserver+nvidia is broken, you have to use nouveau.
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6471
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Linux Mint Debian Incoming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest