Grub Boot Loader

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Grub Boot Loader

Postby llabtaem on Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:09 am

In any way shape or form do I take credit for this. I just had a grub boot loader issue and I wanted to put this out there for anyone else whom may encounter the same issue. This first website has two programs that you can pick from. You can burn them to a disk, mount to USB flash drive or mount to floppy disk. I personally like the Super Grub2 Disk it being only 2.0 MB (it says 1.44 but in my downloads folder it says 2.0 MB *shrugs*) the other one is called Rescatux it is in the 400 MB range. With these programs you can boot into your OS if your boot loader is faulty in anyway. In my case it was pretty much gone. That's what I get for messing around, but hey that's how you learn. I will be keeping this disk close by from now on. Here is the website:

http://www.supergrubdisk.org/

if you do use this program after you log in you can re install your grub boot loader with this command

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get --reinstall install grub-pc


I am not sure if you have to update it but if need be

Code: Select all
sudo update-grub


Another method I was trying was to fix it using my Live-CD but I didn't know what I was doing. I had fixed my issue with the above website, but still curious I found this how-to from Ubuntu and from the looks of it the method(s) can be applied (if not I apologize I am a noob)

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2#Reinstalling_GRUB2

Again I take no credit for this work all credit goes to the rightful owners, I am merely trying to help. Thank you
Image
User avatar
llabtaem
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:21 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Grub Boot Loader

Postby gavinhc on Sun Apr 22, 2012 11:32 am

llabtaem wrote:Another method I was trying was to fix it using my Live-CD but I didn't know what I was doing. I had fixed my issue with the above website, but still curious I found this how-to from Ubuntu and from the looks of it the method(s) can be applied (if not I apologize I am a noob)

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2#Reinstalling_GRUB2

I have used the method described at that link more than once to fix grub on my LMDE install, so I can attest that it does indeed work. I just boot from the LMDE live disc and follow the instructions listed.
AMD Athlon II X4 630, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, Nvidia GeForce GT 430 - 64-bit LMDE (Gnome3) tracking testing, 64-bit Archlinux, 32-bit Windows XP
Aluminum Unibody MacBook - MacOS X 10.7 "Lion"
gavinhc
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:53 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Grub Boot Loader

Postby llabtaem on Sun Apr 22, 2012 9:35 pm

gavinhc wrote:
llabtaem wrote:Another method I was trying was to fix it using my Live-CD but I didn't know what I was doing. I had fixed my issue with the above website, but still curious I found this how-to from Ubuntu and from the looks of it the method(s) can be applied (if not I apologize I am a noob)

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2#Reinstalling_GRUB2

I have used the method described at that link more than once to fix grub on my LMDE install, so I can attest that it does indeed work. I just boot from the LMDE live disc and follow the instructions listed.



Thank you for the confirmation, I am glad that I am getting to know Linux better. Again thank you.
Image
User avatar
llabtaem
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:21 am


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests