Why memtest+ is added to Grub menu automatically?

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Why memtest+ is added to Grub menu automatically?

Postby fida1989 on Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:22 am

I am using LMDE for about 1 month. Until today the Grub menu had 2 option one is usual login and another is recovery login. But suddenly today while booting i am seeing 3 more entries added regarding memtest+. :shock: Why is that? Any problem with my hardware or other thing? :?: Anyway the system is running fine without any issues. Any information will be highly appreciated. :)
fida1989
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 4:57 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Why memtest+ is added to Grub menu automatically?

Postby anmys on Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:43 am

It comes from the file 20_memtest86 in /etc/grub.d. If you feel that it is not needed, just do

Code: Select all
sudo chmod -x 20_memtest86


If you do not want the recovery entry in the grub menu, uncomment the relevant line in /etc/default/grub:

Code: Select all
GRUB_DISABLE_RECOVERY="true"


Regards.
anmys
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:30 pm

Re: Why memtest+ is added to Grub menu automatically?

Postby toomuchcoffee on Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:00 am

Updating seems to do that? On a new install there's no memtest entries whatsoever...
Code: Select all
The program 'suck' is currently not installed.  To run 'suck' please ask your administrator to install the package 'suck'
toomuchcoffee
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:24 am

Re: Why memtest+ is added to Grub menu automatically?

Postby fida1989 on Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:20 am

anmys wrote:It comes from the file 20_memtest86 in /etc/grub.d. If you feel that it is not needed, just do

Code: Select all
sudo chmod -x 20_memtest86





It is not working. Says no such file or directory found.
fida1989
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 4:57 pm

Re: Why memtest+ is added to Grub menu automatically?

Postby fida1989 on Sun Apr 29, 2012 10:22 am

toomuchcoffee wrote:Updating seems to do that? On a new install there's no memtest entries whatsoever...



I guess you are right. Though i don't know the actual reason.
fida1989
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 4:57 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests