Installing LMDE xfcs 64 bit 2012 question

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Installing LMDE xfcs 64 bit 2012 question

Postby animaguy on Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:42 pm

I have made a HUGE decision to wipe out win7 on my desktop. The desktop is offline.

The desktop has 4gb of ram so there should be no hardware issues.

The desktop will be online by next week when I get my modem via fed ex.

However, I want to install it offline to see what happens.

I have gotten to the part of the installation wizard that says:

"Select where you want to install Linux Mint"

I have three devices shown:

/dev/sda1
/dev/sda2
unallocated

I don't want to guess.

If anyone can give me any advice as to what my choices are, I would be most appreciative.

Thank you.


Sent from my HTC Status using Tapatalk 2
animaguy
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:04 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Installing LMDE xfcs 64 bit 2012 question

Postby animaguy on Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:44 pm

Also I am interested in understanding root and format options as well.

Thanks again for any help. :)

Sent from my HTC Status using Tapatalk 2
animaguy
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:04 pm

Re: Installing LMDE xfcs 64 bit 2012 question

Postby wayne128 on Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:03 pm

animaguy wrote:I have made a HUGE decision to wipe out win7 on my desktop. The desktop is offline.


Well, that is a big decision.
Hopefully you either have
1. Win7 original CD
2. clone on USB hard disk
So that when you need it again, you can reinstall.

I have gotten to the part of the installation wizard that says:

"Select where you want to install Linux Mint"

I have three devices shown:

/dev/sda1
/dev/sda2
unallocated


Just only my personal opinion, since I do not even know what is in sda1 and sda2, and do not know if something important insider there that is needed for future,
So I would simply install LMDE onto the unallocated space as long as this space had something like 5G or more ( needed for Linux OS)
That way I keep the sda1 and sda2 intact. I might need it..
wayne128
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2805
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Installing LMDE xfcs 64 bit 2012 question

Postby animaguy on Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:33 pm

There is nothing important on the computer.

I have a laptop with Win7.

This desktop is completely dedicated to LM OS. No duel boot.

I just need to know how to make a decision as to this part of the installation wizard.

Sent from my HTC Status using Tapatalk 2
animaguy
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:04 pm

Re: Installing LMDE xfcs 64 bit 2012 question

Postby animaguy on Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:41 pm

I edited the partions and dedicated sda1 and set the format to ntfs.

The LMDE Installer is stalled.

I do not know what I am doing wrong.

Sent from my HTC Status using Tapatalk 2
animaguy
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:04 pm

Re: Installing LMDE xfcs 64 bit 2012 question

Postby wayne128 on Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:46 pm

Watch this video as a guide

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wo2uaZiR ... re=related


Delete all your partitions.

create a new one for /, format as ext4
create a swap.

then proceed to install
wayne128
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2805
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Installing LMDE xfcs 64 bit 2012 question

Postby animaguy on Tue May 01, 2012 12:11 am

AWESOME! THANKS FOR THE ADVICE!

Sent from my HTC Status using Tapatalk 2
animaguy
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:04 pm

Re: Installing LMDE xfcs 64 bit 2012 question

Postby Oscar799 on Tue May 01, 2012 12:12 pm

Moved here by moderator
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8698
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Installing LMDE xfcs 64 bit 2012 question

Postby telenux on Tue May 01, 2012 6:50 pm

animaguy wrote:I edited the partions and dedicated sda1 and set the format to ntfs.

The LMDE Installer is stalled.

I do not know what I am doing wrong.

Sent from my HTC Status using Tapatalk 2
I don't know about anyone else but you're making it sound confusing.

Is the plan to NOT have Windows on that HDD on your desktop? If so, why are you formatting the partition NTFS?

If you only want one partition, then format as ext4. Although, some people will say it's good to separate /home and /root or to make separate partitions for certain directories.

For e.g., a system that is Linux only with only one partition for the Linux file system might be:

sda1 - EXT4 - xxx GB
sda2 - swap - 1GB

The main idea is to use *at least 2* partitions, one for the file system and one for swap.

For those who want Windows or a 'Windows' file system (e.g. NTFS), it's a different series of steps and a particular configuration.
telenux
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:52 am

Re: Installing LMDE xfcs 64 bit 2012 question

Postby animaguy on Wed May 02, 2012 1:30 am

The plan is to not have Windows.

I was incorrect to choose ntfs.

I forgot what I learned about defragging and anti virus and how windows uses ntfs.

But you gave me good advice and a great link.

Thanks again.

Sent from my HTC Status using Tapatalk 2
animaguy
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 4:04 pm

Re: Installing LMDE xfcs 64 bit 2012 question

Postby Uppi on Sat Jun 09, 2012 6:05 pm

wayne128 wrote:Watch this video as a guide

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wo2uaZiR ... re=related


Delete all your partitions.

create a new one for /, format as ext4
create a swap.

then proceed to install

How can you find such videos?
I usually fins smth like open your CD-ROM and look for viruses in there :?
Thanks a lot
Uppi
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 2:16 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests