How to replace MDM with KDM [Solved]

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

How to replace MDM with KDM [Solved]

Postby corcaigher on Thu May 03, 2012 2:13 am

Can someone explain what I need to do to use KDM instead of MDM?
Last edited by corcaigher on Fri May 04, 2012 1:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
corcaigher
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:18 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to replace MDM with KDM

Postby corcaigher on Fri May 04, 2012 1:58 am

Found the answer in Ubuntu forums, enter the following in a terminal session:

sudo dpkg-reconfigure kdm

Works like a charm.
corcaigher
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:18 am

Re: How to replace MDM with KDM [Solved]

Postby BostonPeng on Wed May 30, 2012 2:11 pm

Easy peasy! Thanks for posting this. I rebuilt my laptop the other day since I realized I need to run the 32-bit LMDE for some of my apps and while I quickly installed KDE on top of it I didn't select KDM as the DM during install and realized this morning I need to change it over. Your fix was easy to find with a forum search and even easier to apply. I owe you a bevvie, corcaigher.
J.M. "BostonPeng" Hardin
Now very happily running SolydK
My new Linux blog: Tux + Me
It's time for Dodgers baseball!
User avatar
BostonPeng
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:50 am
Location: Boston, MA


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests