lmde xfce grub install location req changed? [SOLVED]

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

lmde xfce grub install location req changed? [SOLVED]

Postby wm_domino on Thu Jun 07, 2012 7:00 pm

i've been installing previous versions of lmde xfce with the following setup for a while now:

sda:
sda1: 10GB ext 4 set as /
sda2: 3-90GB ext 4 set as /home
sda3: 1-2GB linux-swap set as /swap

and installing the grub to sda1 : seemed to be working for me no matter what drive i was using or what box it was going into....but since i got this respin, the grub seems to be required to be installed @ sda and when you boot to grub in sda1 you get the never ending black screen w/ blinking cursor.

i'd love to know what i'm doing wrong again please.

i also think this is the reason i got critical .xorg display errors when rebooting after install because deleting .x0-lock sure didn't fix it.
Last edited by wm_domino on Fri Jun 08, 2012 5:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
novice pc user just trying to make mint work for me
wm_domino
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 3:21 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: lmde xfce grub install location requirements changed?

Postby xenopeek on Fri Jun 08, 2012 1:13 pm

Moved here by moderator
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14890
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: lmde xfce grub install location requirements changed?

Postby zerozero on Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:17 pm

with that setup, grub should go on sda (the mbr), it's the only way the OS is gonna be bottable (unless you have another OS in another drive from where you can run upgrade-grub)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6484
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: lmde xfce grub install location requirements changed?

Postby wm_domino on Fri Jun 08, 2012 5:28 pm

awesome, tyvm for the straight answer, i just love this forum and appreciate you all putting up with me very much!
novice pc user just trying to make mint work for me
wm_domino
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 3:21 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests