Refuses to install

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Refuses to install

Postby ddalley on Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:56 am

I am trying to install using a download from a torrent, so it is complete and checksums properly. However, it always stops when it gets to "Setting hostname". I have retried installing numerous times and I have tried to USB mem-sticks as the install medium.

I don't see any other complaints of this happening, so what are my options?
ddalley
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Refuses to install

Postby austin.texas on Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:16 am

More info, please
What flavor of Mint?
Dual-installation?
UEFI?
What kind of computer?
Mint 17 Cinnamon (64 bit), Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Microsoft-free environment since 1996

To help Linux Mint with a donation, please visit http://www.linuxmint.com/donors.php
User avatar
austin.texas
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Refuses to install

Postby ddalley on Wed Mar 05, 2014 5:10 pm

Not really a dual-install, but an install to a USB mem-stick that had LM on it before, so I am pretty sure the sticks should work. I have tried two, so far.

LMDE MATE 32-bit, but the 64-bit Cinnamon version hasn't been successful, either.

UEFI? I don't think so. This desktop computer is a few years old.
ddalley
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Refuses to install

Postby Monsta on Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:27 am

ddalley wrote:However, it always stops when it gets to "Setting hostname".

Is that during the Live DVD boot or during the installation? If it's the installer's message, please run it from the terminal:
Code: Select all
gksu live-installer
and post the output from the terminal here.
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2336
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Refuses to install

Postby ddalley on Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:26 pm

It worked up to the same point, then stopped, so I closed the installer.

gksu live-installer
glibtop: Non-standard uts for running kernel:
release 3.11-2-486=3.11.0 gives version code 199424

No translation found, switching back to English
Color: #ff0001
Image: /usr/share/live-installer/timezone/timezone_-6.0.png
Color: #ff2a2a
Image: /usr/share/live-installer/timezone/timezone_-5.0.png
Failed to mount /dev/sdb3
## INSTALLATION
Template path: /usr/share/live-installer/slideshow/template.html
Content path does not exist: /usr/share/live-installer/slideshow/office.html
--> Installation started
EXECUTING: 'mkfs.ext4 /dev/sdb1'
--> Mounting partitions
------ Mounting /lib/live/mount/medium/live/filesystem.squashfs on /source/
EXECUTING: 'mount -o loop -t squashfs /lib/live/mount/medium/live/filesystem.squashfs /source/'
------ Mounting partition /dev/sdb1 on /target/
EXECUTING: 'mount -t ext4 /dev/sdb1 /target'
------ Mounting /dev/sdb3 on /target/home
EXECUTING: 'mount -t ext4 /dev/sdb3 /target/home'
--> Indexing files
--> Copying files
File "/usr/lib/live-installer/installer.py", line 188, in init_install
self.do_copy_file(sourcepath, targetpath)
--> Writing hostname
File "/usr/lib/live-installer/installer.py", line 341, in finish_install
hostnamefh = open("/target/etc/hostname", "w")
ddalley
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Refuses to install

Postby Monsta on Sat Mar 08, 2014 3:36 pm

I've tried to look at the installer's code but couldn't figure out why this issue may happen, so in the end I've reported this bug on github. Maybe Clem will figure out what's going on.
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2336
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Refuses to install

Postby ddalley on Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:08 pm

Monsta wrote:I've tried to look at the installer's code but couldn't figure out why this issue may happen, so in the end I've reported this bug on github. Maybe Clem will figure out what's going on.


Thank you! By the look of the errors, path names seem to be messed up. I install directly to USB devices, so maybe that is affecting things.

I would like to get LMDE going again, some day.
ddalley
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Refuses to install

Postby Monsta on Tue Mar 11, 2014 4:57 am

There's another similar report. Looks like something goes wrong if the destination drive is a USB flash drive.
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2336
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Refuses to install

Postby ddalley on Tue Mar 11, 2014 5:30 pm

Right, Different problem, same symptoms. Thanks for looking into this.

However, I don't see a simple fix for it. Not having the right install commands on the disc won't be easy to fix without a re-issue of the system.

Bummer.
ddalley
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Refuses to install [SOLVED]

Postby anyak on Sat Mar 15, 2014 1:47 am

It is good news that I am not alone with this problem. My laptop is HP DV7-1165.
I have made 4 source: 2 USB-memsticks and 2 DVD with LMDE both x32 Cinnamon and Mate.
In all cases, the Live mode works fine. But installing on a clean and only hard drive hangs always in the same place "Install hostname".
I have tried all versions with different languages and hostnames.
I tried installing last Debian testing. There is something in common. Graphical installer for Debian hangs too. But pseudo-graphical installer for Debian works properly.
But my goal is not Debian, namely LMDE. May be someone has found a solution to this problem of graphical installer for LMDE
Last edited by anyak on Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
anyak
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:34 am

Re: Refuses to install

Postby Monsta on Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:13 am

anyak wrote:But installing on a clean and only hard drive hangs always in the same place "Install hostname".

Looks like you haven't read the previous messages. In that case, I'll repeat the request. Run the installer in the terminal:
Code: Select all
gksu live-installer
and post the output here.
No, it won't solve your problem but it will give us some debug info.
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2336
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Refuses to install

Postby anyak on Sat Mar 15, 2014 11:54 am

Monsta wrote:Looks like you haven't read the previous messages


I carefully read the previous posts and a link that you gave. But!!! You are absolutely right!
Many times I've installed different OS and act almost automatically. It was my mistake. After Your words I carefully controlled the installation process and only then I found that I made the partitioning in GB. I forgot that it is GParted. I switched on the MB and all became OK
Thank You for the help and sorry for unfounded anxiety. I hope my example will save someone else from silly mistakes and unnecessary loss of time.
The problem is completely solved.
anyak
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:34 am

Re: Refuses to install

Postby Monsta on Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:22 am

anyak wrote:After Your words I carefully controlled the installation process and only then I found that I made the partitioning in GB. I forgot that it is GParted. I switched on the MB and all became OK

Wait, what? GB? MB? Switched? What kind of description is that? What have been done to solve the problem? :?
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2336
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Refuses to install

Postby austin.texas on Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:00 pm

Monsta wrote:Wait, what? GB? MB? Switched?

I think "I made the partitioning in GB" means a switch from GPT partitioning to MBR. Maybe ??
Mint 17 Cinnamon (64 bit), Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Microsoft-free environment since 1996

To help Linux Mint with a donation, please visit http://www.linuxmint.com/donors.php
User avatar
austin.texas
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Re: Refuses to install

Postby Zalbor on Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:44 pm

austin.texas wrote:
Monsta wrote:Wait, what? GB? MB? Switched?

I think "I made the partitioning in GB" means a switch from GPT partitioning to MBR. Maybe ??

It sounds like they gave partition sizes in GB instead of MB.
Zalbor
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:53 am

Re: Refuses to install

Postby anyak on Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:22 pm

Please forgive me for my "Russian English". I can read English, but speak and write for me some problem.
What I had in mind. Nowadays disk volume amounts to hundreds of gigabytes. My drive is 500 GB. For the linux filesystem I chose to 25 gigabytes and all the rest for the /home. Many tools for partitioning disks offer you to select the size immediately in gigabytes. But GParted does it in MiB, so if I want to have a partition 25 gigabytes, I should choose 25600 MiB. Thanks installer LMDE that it did not sent me to the farm for butterfly catch, but simply froze in Nirvana trying to cram all filesystem to 25 MB. :lol:
That's all solution of a problem, and I suppose, not me one.
I wish you all the best of luck.
Last edited by anyak on Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
anyak
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:34 am

Re: Refuses to install

Postby austin.texas on Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:12 pm

Good job!
Please go to your first post, click EDIT, and add [SOLVED] to the title.
Mint 17 Cinnamon (64 bit), Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Microsoft-free environment since 1996

To help Linux Mint with a donation, please visit http://www.linuxmint.com/donors.php
User avatar
austin.texas
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Refuses to install

Postby Monsta on Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:00 pm

Aha. Looks like the installer doesn't correctly process the errors during the copying of the files to the target filesystem. It catches some exception but doesn't stop there. Instead it proceeds to the next phase and tries to continue the setup on the target filesystem, and this time it just hangs there.
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2336
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests