Dual booting Linux Mint Debian 201403 and Win 8.1 [SOLVED]

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
JohnGregor

Dual booting Linux Mint Debian 201403 and Win 8.1 [SOLVED]

Post by JohnGregor »

hi, can some one PLEASE
give me a step by step instructions on how to install LinuxMint Debian with win 8.1,
i am new to Linux, Debian Mint version works good on my dell 2720 all in one. i get stock at partitioning;
regular Linux Mint no problems on my laptop,
problems are on desktop,
i have win 8.1 installed on drive B, drive A is actually my drive for Data,this is just the way this dell 2720 all in one is configured.
i don't know how to install Debian.

configuration as follows:

Dell 2720 XPS All In One
computer is in legacy mode, 8GB RAM
boot drive is drive B with win 8.1 installed (msata drive 120GB)
drive A is my data storage drive (SSD 240)GB

i get stock
getting partition or where and how to configure next step,
can some one give me step by step installation guide.
john
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 5 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
gtsfer

Re: Dual booting Linux Mint Debian and Win 8.1

Post by gtsfer »

This is a good place to start for W8 systems. http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=163126

The SSD is another matter. If you search on Google for "install Linux Mint SSD site:forums.linuxmint.com" there's a few threads on this. Here's just one that looks recent. http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=90&t=164403
JohnGregor

Re: Dual booting Linux Mint Debian and Win 8.1

Post by JohnGregor »

hi, still hoping for installation guide for
Linux Mint Debian 64bit most important the partition section !!!
thank you
JohnGregor

Re: Dual booting Linux Mint Debian LMDE 201403 and Win 8.1

Post by JohnGregor »

hi, all i need is
just name and approximate size of partitions,
what partitions to create
and the place to install boot loader

thank you
gtsfer