cannot install new LMDE

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

cannot install new LMDE

Postby xieu90 on Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:16 pm

hi
somehow I cannot install this new LMDE
whenever I click on install it will show : granting rights
and nothing happens. (strange .... )
I also cannot use internet in livecd (dont see the normal internet icon)
>.<
I'm using iso 32 bit version from irland's server
xieu90
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:43 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby defcon on Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:28 pm

User avatar
defcon
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:17 pm
Location: Germany

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby xieu90 on Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:39 pm

similar problem but not quite the same
I managed to boot in and have graphics, but cannot install lmde.
on the panel I see a new window with a name: granting rights , nothing on screen
then the window name in panel disappears and nothing happens

if I remember well I also typed a code in console
something like
gksudo *****************liveinstaller (copied from install icon)
but the terminal is total white and nothing happens

those happened on my intel laptop (this is my first time I cannot install mint)
yeah and I'm writing in old LMDE from my laptop ^^

on my amd 64 bit computer :
could not find kernel image: linux
so I couldnt even boot into livecd (this happens with both LMDE)
xieu90
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:43 pm

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby defcon on Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:50 pm

Hm, i'm running lmde64 and it works fine.
Check if the downloaded iso is corruppted (md5sum).
User avatar
defcon
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:17 pm
Location: Germany

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby xieu90 on Fri Dec 24, 2010 5:06 pm

I downloaded and deleted a lot of 32 bits from irland server and torrent
so the iso of current cd is deleted, I have downloaded another iso from somewhere and its md5 sum is correct
the current dvd is second or third already and they all did the same
on computer: couldnt find kernel image
on laptop: boot OK, live OK, but cannot install.
I havent tried 64 yet, dont know if I should, cause software for Debian is less than for Ubuntu, and for 64 is even less than for 32 :mrgreen:
xieu90
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:43 pm

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby Eliwood on Fri Dec 24, 2010 7:02 pm

Hi everybody.

I thought that problem would be with damaged ISO file, because my DVD boots normally but I can't install it...and I've discovered that it works until I try to launch anything that needs superuser privileges (Synaptic etc.). The program for installing Mint works only when launched from terminal without sudo, but I can't install because it cannot see my hard drive. My computer is a Thinkpad R500 laptop with Intel GMA 4500MHD video card.
Strange thing is that it works perfectly on my second PC - desktop with a simple 4 MB video card.

So this is a component-related problem.

I hope somebody will find a solution to this problem, I didn't...yet. :)
Eliwood
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 3:03 pm

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby xieu90 on Sat Dec 25, 2010 5:46 am

@Eliwood
we both have lenovo thinkpad and intel 4500
it is funnyy ^^

so running that install in terminal without sudo will run, but cannot install because it cant see partiions ?
what if we mount partitions first, then run install?
I will have breakfast now and try with it later, hope I can find any way to install it.
annoying new LMDE ^^
xieu90
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:43 pm

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby defcon on Sat Dec 25, 2010 5:52 am

User avatar
defcon
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:17 pm
Location: Germany

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby xieu90 on Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:01 am

I just tried that link on my laptop
and using nouveau I got a frozen black screen with circle mouse cursor
so let it boot normal I can still get into live session

look like this new LMDE has problem with root.
sudo su in terminal will just make terminal frozen

the username I use in live session called mint
I wonder if he is has root rights or not.
xieu90
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:43 pm

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby yulzopolis on Wed Dec 29, 2010 2:19 am

Did you guys figure out how to deal with this issue? I'm having the same problem (after clicking install on the live dvd, it says "granting rights" on the bottom panel, and then it doesn't launch the installer or do anything).

I'm also trying to install on a Lenovo/IBM Thinkpad X60 (using the dvd drive in the ultrabase).
yulzopolis
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 2:12 am

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby xieu90 on Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:21 pm

I personally havent found any solution.
my laptop stays with old LMDE version, works well, no complains just uglier than the new version ^^
I managed to install my computer with old version and the boot time of LMDE is a bit better, but blender has problem in lmde even with updated video card driver, so I switched back to mint 8 (old but lighter than 9 and 10)
I will wait until another new version of LMDE come out and try again, cause mint 8 and old lmde are ok for me
xieu90
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:43 pm

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby willie42 on Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:42 am

There is a problem with the LMDE 32 bit Version. Clem and his team will be releasing another one that is working better in January

We’re currently addressing the “Black Screen of Death” bug and re-spinning the 32-bit ISO which is likely to be released sometime this week as “201101″ to avoid confusion with the current ISO. This bug is preventing many people from running the live CD.
Servers:

http://blog.linuxmint.com/
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby xieu90 on Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:40 am

that is a good news ^^
I dont have the black death screen but the problem with granting rights.
hope it will be fix in next release.
ps: I see the iso on the server already, downloading and will report back here when I am done
xieu90
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:43 pm

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby xieu90 on Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:23 am

new 2011 version doesnt work
I can still log in and try live session
but I still die at granting rights (when click at install mint shortcut)
xieu90
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:43 pm

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby xieu90 on Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:04 pm

I can now install the new version of LMDE 201101 ( 986 MB instead of 985.2MB )
dont know how to mark the topic solved ^^
but this new one is already a bit heavier than the old one
longer boot time + hotter temperature
xieu90
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:43 pm

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby red123 on Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:31 pm

Where are you guys getting the new ISO? It has not been released yet.

# Clem Says:
December 30th, 2010 at 9:26 pm

I forgot to mention three important things:

- Please do not download the ISO until it is officially announced (We’ll be releasing 201101 shortly but it’s not available yet. If you managed to download it already, you’re just running the wrong ISO.)
- If you downloaded 201012 and you’re getting a black screen you can try the following kernel arguments: “nomodeset” for nvidia, “nouveau.modeset=0″ for nforce/gforce and generic, “radeon.modeset=0″ for ATI cards. This should let you boot the live session and install LMDE. Post-install you’ll be running an up-to-date kernel, so you won’t need to modify your grub settings for things to work.
- The upcoming 201101 ISO should work fine for most chipsets in normal or compatibility modes without using any modesetting kernel arguments. I could personally observe that on two nvidia and one intel systems. We’ll be testing the ISO on more systems, including ATI chipsets, before releasing it.
red123
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 1:46 am

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby xieu90 on Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:15 am

- Please do not download the ISO until it is officially announced (We’ll be releasing 201101 shortly but it’s not available yet. If you managed to download it already, you’re just running the wrong ISO.)


so I might still running the wrong ISO.
do you also want to try the wrong ISO like us then all bla bla and make reputation of mint worse or rather wait and be happy with good quality ISO ?
I suggest you waiting, but if still want to know where to get those iso then pm me I will show you where.
xieu90
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:43 pm

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby yulzopolis on Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:41 am

got it working by finding a mirror for the 201009 install disk and updating the system (for a real long time lol))
yulzopolis
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 2:12 am

Re: cannot install new LMDE

Postby rivenathos on Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:44 am

The LMDE 201101 32-bit image was just released. Please check http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1614 for further details.
Debian 7 with GNOME 64-bit
User avatar
rivenathos
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1066
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 7:32 am
Location: USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests