Problems with new lmde install

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: Problems with new lmde install

Postby lleiria on Wed Dec 29, 2010 9:03 am

Seeley,
I followed strictly your guides with no error messages, but I still can't boot windows.
I have linux and windows in the grub menu, I can boot mint, but when I choose windows I just get the word GRUB and a blinking prompt.
Image
lleiria
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 2:07 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Problems with new lmde install

Postby seeley on Wed Dec 29, 2010 9:09 am

Hi!
Please boot again and type "e" or "c" and see which commands are available; as far as I remember you then must type help or use <tab>; important question: do you see a command "chainloader" ? Please report!
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1518
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: Problems with new lmde install

Postby seeley on Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:56 am

Hi lleiria!
Boot as usual, when the menu appears, type
Code: Select all
c

(BTW: Notice the Grub version!) You see:
Code: Select all
grub>_

type
Code: Select all
chainloader (hd0, <tab>

(<tab> means: hit the tab key.) You see - I hope - a list of partitions; search the one with Windows/ System/ ntfs on it,
It could be Partition hd0,msdos1
you should see
Code: Select all
chainloader (hd0,msdos

If it is msdos1, complete the command: (with the number you found - here as example, I use "1")
Code: Select all
chainloader (hd0,msdos1)+1

(the second "1" must be "1" in any case!)
You see again:
Code: Select all
grub> _

Type
Code: Select all
boot

Wait a while - hoping Windows will start.
Please report.
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1518
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: Problems with new lmde install

Postby lleiria on Wed Dec 29, 2010 1:46 pm

It didnt work. Everything was as you told -- the partition was (hd0,msdos1), and I discovered it with <tab>, but when I typed boot, it didn't boot, just returned to a prompt
Code: Select all
GRUB_
Image
lleiria
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 2:07 pm

Re: Problems with new lmde install

Postby seeley on Wed Dec 29, 2010 2:39 pm

Hi!
Oh, I must reflect on these bad news; I will search in my books and the Net - tomorrow I will post the result(s).
But I only see a slim chance - that must be a Windows problem, because GRUB seems to be properly installed
and you are able to boot Mint.
You could test your hard disk (PartedMagic contains such a program) or search with Google:
"rescue + linux" and read:
http://www.supergrubdisk.org/
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1518
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: Problems with new lmde install

Postby lleiria on Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:08 pm

Seeley,
Searching, I found this:

http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/b ... oot_Sector

http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/

What do you think of using testdisk?
Image
lleiria
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 2:07 pm

Re: Problems with new lmde install

Postby seeley on Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:11 am

Hi!
1. Windows, as well XP, creates system restore points; but I suppose you don't have a recovery DVD?
2. Here, in the forum, William found a solution (with VISTA) - you should read the last post:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=61879
3. I have no experience with both, but I would try first "bootinfoscript", afterwards "fdisk"
4. PM (-> link below) has useful tools.
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1518
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: Problems with new lmde install

Postby seeley on Thu Dec 30, 2010 6:20 am

Hi lleiria!
What I would do in your case:
1. Run the bootinfoscript, open a new thread, post the output, write a few sentences.
2. Download and burn PM, boot from the live medium PM and see, what possibilities you have.
http://partedmagic.com/doku.php
As I saw, there is a new version, 5.8 (I will download and burn it now).
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1518
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: Problems with new lmde install

Postby seeley on Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:04 am

Hi lleiria!
After having downloaded PM 5.8, I checked md5sum, burned an image on USB; everything works fine.
Booting from the live medium, you can choose language. Features: Internet connection (Chromium), the
latest GParted (0.7.1), Hard Disk Inspection, TestDisk,...
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1518
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: Problems with new lmde install

Postby Sassinak on Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:34 pm

As I have a 10-year-old computer, I have to install grub to a separate /boot partition, for my BIOS can't handle the large disk (s). I have the latest LMDE 32-bit supposedly installed on it's own partition, with Ubuntu 10.04 on another. I asked LMDE not to install a bootloader, thought I specified the existence of the /boot. I did an update-grub from Ubuntu; it saw and offers LMDE; but I can't get it to boot. Fails to find the / and falls back on the minimal bash. I edited the fstab, that was a bit weird, but no cookie. This is my third attempt. The first, with the sept. issue, installed but failed update; the X-mas issue would stall at that famous single prompt on black screen. Does Ubuntu really mean "can't install Debian " ? :?

edit: ok, moved here: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=141&t=63513 (I hope)
Last edited by Sassinak on Fri Jan 07, 2011 4:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"What senses do we lack, that we cannot see [...] a world all around us ?" Frank Herbert, Dune
Currently using Lucid, but switching back and forth with LMDE.
Sassinak
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 3:01 pm
Location: Quebec, Quebec

Re: Problems with new lmde install

Postby seeley on Fri Jan 07, 2011 3:39 pm

Hi Sassinak!
Because your problem is quite different, please open a new thread - I will answer as soon as possible.
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot
Maya MATE Cinnamon , Qiana Cin., Qiana KDE
Quickly get help
Wie schnelle Hilfe erhalten
User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1518
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: Problems with new lmde install

Postby oryan_dunn on Mon Feb 28, 2011 4:27 pm

I just ran into this problem as well, the installer hanging on "Configuring bootloader".

However, several conditions that the others in this thread had, I do not have. This is using the latest 64-bit LMDE DVD inside a VMware virtual environment, with a completely blank hard disk. I had to redo the install and not check the install grub, then used ahulsbos's directions to get grub installed. I know the thread is a bit old, but I just ran into this and thought I'd report it. If need-be, I can report it as a bug.

Ryan
oryan_dunn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:23 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Previous

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests