Live CD won't boot

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Live CD won't boot

Postby allypink on Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:22 am

Hello folks
I too am having trouble with the latest LMDE live cd. I can get it to start and run OK on my laptop (del inspiron 1300) but can't get it to load on my desktop. AMD 2 core; Nvidia graphics. Gets part of the way through then if have to REISUB to get the machine back. Have tried all the suggestions for Nvidia graphic machines below to no avail. Will be waiting for the next release as this one is a no go-er. Trouble with live cd is it really needs to work on pretty much any system otherwise the whole OS looses credibility. There seems to be many posts with the same or similar problem, so it's not just me. Thanks Al.
Desktop; DELL Optiplex Core 2 Quad 8GB RAM
Run Mint 17, 1TB WD black 7200 and Win 7 320GB WD black 7200 (gotta for work)
Also run other distros from a dock swaping out older HDDs for PLAY!!
A happy donor to the effort. If you use it...... DONATE!
User avatar
allypink
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 10:27 pm
Location: Nambour Australia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Live CD won't boot

Postby Illuminati2012 on Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:04 pm

The previous ISO works you can download it here http://mint.ez.by/linuxmint.com/debian/ ... d-i386.iso
After you install it just run the update manager. It should work.
Illuminati2012
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:37 am

Re: Live CD won't boot

Postby allypink on Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:41 pm

Illuminati2012 wrote:The previous ISO works you can download it here http://mint.ez.by/linuxmint.com/debian/ ... d-i386.iso
After you install it just run the update manager. It should work.

Thanks. Have no disire to install at the mo, just want to check it out. I am over the moon with the regular M10, but like the thought of not relying on Ubuntu anymore and not changing editions each 6 months; but hey, thats one of the attractions of Linux..... the freedom to change.
Al.
Desktop; DELL Optiplex Core 2 Quad 8GB RAM
Run Mint 17, 1TB WD black 7200 and Win 7 320GB WD black 7200 (gotta for work)
Also run other distros from a dock swaping out older HDDs for PLAY!!
A happy donor to the effort. If you use it...... DONATE!
User avatar
allypink
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 10:27 pm
Location: Nambour Australia

Re: Live CD won't boot

Postby heavymetalmixer on Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:48 pm

I quote myself (yeah, i'm a weird guy)

For those who got the 32 bits edition, and are installing it using a USB (unetbootin): a found a solution:

First you gotta know what unti is your USB, in my case is /dev/sdb

Now, boot the live USB, get down until you're in "compatibilty mode", then press tab for editing. After "xforcevesa" put "nomodeset" and enter.

Just wait, and you''ll see the live USB begin with a 800*600 resolution

Now install LMDE (the steps are obvious, i won't say them), and wait until it's complete.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you got stucked in "Configuring bootloader" for a big while, quit the installation and reboot. Then use the live USB . . . again (yeah, i know it's so hard . . .)

Now, get down until you're in "compatibilty mode", then press tab for editing. After "xforcevesa" put "nomodeset", and where it says "root = /dev/ram", replaces ram for the unit of your usb, in this case sdb and enter.

Now, you got LMDE installed but grub is screwed, let's get going . . .
First, you gotta know what's the partition where you installed LMDE, open a root terminal a type:

"mount /dev/sda2 /mnt" (sda2 is in this case the partition where you installed LMDE)
"mount --bind /dev /mnt/dev"
"mount --bind /proc /mnt/proc"

then . . .

"chroot /mnt"
"grub-install --recheck /dev/sda" (here it's sda because got to be installed in all the Hard Drive)

Then, reboot WITHOUT the live USB, and enter in LMDE, just login normal, now you got the SO normally installed.

Open the root terminal and type:

"update-grub2" and wait until it's complete.

If that command didn't work, type this:
"aptitude install grub2" and follw the steps.

NOW you got LMDE 32 bits Installed successfuly.


Oh, i forgot to say something: I got a Nvidia VGA, for ATI, i think instead "nomodeset" it's "radeon.modeset=0"


I hope it helps you.
heavymetalmixer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 10:03 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests