LMDE and Windoze 7

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby rdonnelly on Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:48 am

I am going to be getting a Lenevo Thinkcentre A700. I want to leave the Windoze on a seperate partion, and LMDE 64 on another. Will the install routine install GRUB and make it dual boot-able with out any problems?
The OS: Linux Mint Debian 64 KDE Plasma 4.10.5
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
User avatar
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby kc1di on Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:56 am

It worked ok on my setup here have LMDE and Windoze 7 dual booting.
It's a little tricky getting it make windoze the default at boot though , you have to edit the /etc/defaults/grub.conf file. and then do a update-grub command.

I know the devs are very busy this time of year but it would be a great feature it they could include an app that would allow this to be done easily.
mandrava and PCLinuxOS do that very well.

Just a suggestion.
John 3:16
Morse code an Early
Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby tdockery97 on Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:57 am

I am booting LMDE 64, Mint 10, and Windows 7 so yes, it works.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4892
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby rdonnelly on Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:14 am

kc1di wrote:It worked ok on my setup here have LMDE and Windoze 7 dual booting.
It's a little tricky getting it make windoze the default at boot though , you have to edit the /etc/defaults/grub.conf file. and then do a update-grub command.

I know the devs are very busy this time of year but it would be a great feature it they could include an app that would allow this to be done easily.
mandrava and PCLinuxOS do that very well.

Just a suggestion.


If LMDE boots default, that is just fine with me :mrgreen:
The OS: Linux Mint Debian 64 KDE Plasma 4.10.5
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
User avatar
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby kc1di on Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:08 pm

It should install and boot just fine.
enjoy :)
John 3:16
Morse code an Early
Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
Image
User avatar
kc1di
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby tacoz on Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:36 am

Of course one can always install startupmanger...
I don't why it's just not done as part of the default installation.
tacoz
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:38 am
Location: Zoolooland

Re: LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby ukbrian on Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:35 pm

@tacoz
Good pointer, that app does everything most folk would want.
Be good if they updated the app to create a rescue CD/DVD rather than the floppy at the moment but a very handy tool. :D
ukbrian
User avatar
ukbrian
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:03 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests