How do I install LMDE10 using compatibility mode?

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

How do I install LMDE10 using compatibility mode?

Postby omynos on Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:17 am

Hello peoples!

First off, I've been using Linux variants for a couple of years now, so I'm not sure if I qualify as a newbie or not...

I've always been able to use the LiveCD before, now I'm having problems. The md5 is good, the .iso was verified, the cd integrity was checked. All things go.

But with LMDE10, it just hangs at the splash screen, when I boot from compatibility mode, everything is fine.
(Note: I did get the respin, the one re-created in January.)

Please don't tell me to go to the link where I have to download the .pdf file. Right now I'm stuck using my PS3 browser to research this, so I cannot read .pdf, .odf, or any text files which I have to download. Furthermore, I cannot read any online .pdf files either.

I will repeat this: I cannot read any .pdf, .odf, or .txt files on my PlayStation 3. So do not refer me to the link with the .pdf guide.

How do I install LMDE10 using compatibility mode? Many thanks for an http://link.
omynos
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:05 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How do I install LMDE10 using compatibility mode?

Postby allypink on Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:12 am

[quote="omynos"]Hello peoples!

First off, I've been using Linux variants for a couple of years now, so I'm not sure if I qualify as a newbie or not...

I've always been able to use the LiveCD before, now I'm having problems. The md5 is good, the .iso was verified, the cd integrity was checked. All things go.

But with LMDE10, it just hangs at the splash screen, when I boot from compatibility mode, everything is fine.
(Note: I did get the respin, the one re-created in January.)]

Download the latest spin (2011-1) the 2010-12 had issues. Check out the threads.
(oops did not read your post properly. I withdraw the suggestion) :?
Al.
Desktop; DELL Optiplex Core 2 Quad 8GB RAM
Run Mint 17, 1TB WD black 7200 and Win 7 320GB WD black 7200 (gotta for work)
Also run other distros from a dock swaping out older HDDs for PLAY!!
A happy donor to the effort. If you use it...... DONATE!
User avatar
allypink
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 10:27 pm
Location: Nambour Australia

Re: How do I install LMDE10 using compatibility mode?

Postby proxima_centauri on Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:26 pm

Moved to Editions > LMDE Subforum

Your recent duplicate thread has been removed. I've bumped this one since it already had a response.
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: How do I install LMDE10 using compatibility mode?

Postby Murdock on Wed Jan 26, 2011 7:28 am

First thing first. There is no such thing as LMDE10..................
Pura Vida.
Arenal Botanical Garden
Lake Arenal, Costa Rica
User avatar
Murdock
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 11:23 pm
Location: Costa Rica


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests