How to downgrade Grub2 to Grub1?

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

How to downgrade Grub2 to Grub1?

Postby runbei on Mon Jan 17, 2011 12:05 pm

I'd be grateful for your thoughts on how to downgrade Grub2 to Grub1 after installing LMDE (32-bit).

Using Grub1 appears to be the easy solution to a problem with LMDE not suspending/resuming a ThinkPad X32 laptop properly.

The solution worked with OpenSUSE 11.3, which uses Grub1, and I'm hoping it will also work with LMDE. It involves simply inserting "nomodeset" in the Grub kernel spec line.

Any tips/leads would be appreciated.

RedHat-based distros are the only ones I've found that make suspend/restore work flawlessly out of the box - but then, CentOS, Fedora, and Scientific Linux ain't Mint...
runbei
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Mountain View, CA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to downgrade Grub2 to Grub1?

Postby zerozero on Mon Jan 17, 2011 12:31 pm

i used this how-to http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? ... rub+legacy in Mint9 a few months ago an worked very well.

Can't tell you if it applies to LMDE's grub, haven't tested there

edit: just check now LMDE's Synaptic and the pkgs have different names than in Ubuntu: Grub1 in Ubuntu is Grub and in LMDE is Grub-legacy, but the rest should apply.

edit2: again take this with caution, i tested in Mint9 and went very well, haven't tested in LMDE.

Good luck
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: How to downgrade Grub2 to Grub1?

Postby runbei on Mon Jan 17, 2011 2:37 pm

zerozero - thank you, thank you. I will likely re-install LMDE on the ThinkPad X32 soon, replacing Scientific Linux, and will report on my experience as I try to solve the sleep/restore issue.

I can't help being curious: Your signature says "I'm going Debian." Does that mean naked Debian or LMDE? Having just acquired the X32 for tiny portability, I'm weighing all options but leaning toward LMDE for obvious reasons - easy installation, great MintMenu, and of course the support forums.
runbei
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Mountain View, CA

Re: How to downgrade Grub2 to Grub1?

Postby zerozero on Mon Jan 17, 2011 2:50 pm

you're welcome! hope it works as it did for me with Mint9.

I installed LMDE in the beginning of september (1st 32bit release) and is my primary OS since day one.
Hardly ever boot into any of the other 6 linux OS's i have installed in the HDD (Mint7, Mint9, and 4 flavours of Mandriva :) )
That's how great LMDE is :D :D
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: How to downgrade Grub2 to Grub1?

Postby runbei on Mon Jan 17, 2011 2:59 pm

I assume you're tracking Testing in LMDE. I plan to track Squeeze for ultimate stability, at least for a while. I've installed Linux 10 times in the last three days and I'm sick of tinkering. I think I could now set up my favorite desktop with my eyes closed.

I was searching for the best stable option to run Windows in VirtualBox long-term without having to reinstall the whole mess every six months. The options seemed to be Debian, LMDE, Mepis, CentOS, or Scientific Linux (the latter two both RedHat-based, with very long release cycles).

I also hoped for a quicker solution to the suspend/resume issue but did not find it in any of those distros - although SL did suspend/resume brilliantly, and OpenSUSE did it fine with a small fix, they both had other annoyances (e.g., package handling isn't nearly as slick in CentOS/Scientific L. as in Mint). So, back we come. Mint is the girl I always return to.
Last edited by runbei on Thu Jan 20, 2011 12:45 am, edited 3 times in total.
runbei
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:49 am
Location: Mountain View, CA

Re: How to downgrade Grub2 to Grub1?

Postby zerozero on Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:26 pm

for ultimate stability you do well tracking Squeeze.
As for me, well i'm no good example :mrgreen: My LMDE tracks sid with pkgs from aptosid and mepis and as far as it goes i couldn't break it :D :D
But for me, computers is an hobby, i don't do here any really work (that one, my work, has nothing to do with computers).

As for suspend/resume i don't use it, so can't help you there but please do open another topic and someone here will look closer into it.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6492
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests