Changing to grub-legacy in LMDE

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Changing to grub-legacy in LMDE

Postby Zalbor on Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm

(Feel free to skip the first paragraph, the real question is afterwards)
Hello, I've been an Ubuntu user for years but I'm planning a switch to Mint. I'm between waiting for Mint 11 next month and switching to LMDE, so I've tried Mint 10 and LMDE in virtual machines to see if I can customise them the way I want.

I've tried to replace Grub 2 with Grub Legacy on LMDE (the main reason being that I want to use a password to lock certain options in the Grub menu, and I'll consider Grub 2 to be an alpha until it can do what Grub 1 did -but I digress). I tried to do it the same way I've been doing it in Ubuntu, which is to remove grub-pc, grub-common and os-prober, reinstall the latter two with grub-legacy, then run update-grub, grub-install and setup from the grub console. Most of that works fine, but when I get to grub-install it fails with "Problem reading stage1 file". I've tried reinstalling the package and deleting the grub directory to have it rebuilt by update-grub but the same thing always happens.

Is there something more I'm supposed to do, or is the Debian Testing grub-legacy package broken?
Last edited by Zalbor on Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Zalbor
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:53 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Changing to grub-legacy in LMDE

Postby DataMan on Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:15 pm

I hope I'm interpreting your posting correct inasmuch as you are attempting to install Mint Debian but want to use a GRUB legacy that you already have installed.

If that is the case, there is an option within the Gnome Mint Debian installer to skip the installation of GRUB altogether. If you select it, the installer will "crab" at you a couple of times. Forget it and proceed with the installation.

Post-install, you will need to access your working menu.lst and add a stanza for your new Debian installation.

I just went through this the last weekend with my dedicated GRUB legacy partition.

Hope I interpreted your posting correct and this addresses your question.

-DataMan
Linux'd since 2005 Linux ID 422356 Ubuntu ID 15015
User avatar
DataMan
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:47 am
Location: Carmel, Indiana USA at /var/www

Re: Changing to grub-legacy in LMDE

Postby Zalbor on Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:17 pm

Hi, thanks for the reply. But unfortunately no, that's not what I meant.

Installing LMDE (or other current/recent distros) installs Grub 2 by default. I want to remove it and replace it with Grub Legacy, but the way I've been doing that for Ubuntu doesn't work with LMDE.
Zalbor
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 11:53 am

Re: Changing to grub-legacy in LMDE

Postby zerozero on Thu Apr 21, 2011 7:01 am

hi Zalbor,
probably you are using this how-to http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? ... rub+legacy ?
i used it to do the same with Mint9 and it works, but atm LMDE has a newer grub v. and some things have changed, like for example chainload os with grub legacy though the 40_costum.
In LMDE i haven't try to do this, so don't know if that how-to works, if it was the one you were following, can't help you, sorry :(
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6488
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests