Update-grub made some mistakes?

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Update-grub made some mistakes?

Postby And7ate9 on Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:40 pm

Hey all I have LMDE, Ubuntu 11, and 64 Studio on my computer in multiboot.
I just updated grub in LMDE and it removed the Ubuntu entries from my grub menu.
What should I do?
And7ate9
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:02 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Update-grub made some mistakes?

Postby dawgdoc on Wed Jun 29, 2011 10:08 pm

When you say you updated grub, are you referring to an upgrade in the grub package version in LMDE? If so it may be as simple as running in terminal
Code: Select all
sudo update-grub


If that does not help, or if you have laready done that we will need to know more about your system. You may have more than one instance of grub installed. Probably the best thing would be to install Boot Info Script and paste the results back to this thread. See this post for instructions on doing that:
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=51829&#p298135
Image

SYSTEM: Compaq Presario CQ62 Dual-Boot: Mint 13 Gnome x32 PAE, LMDE
READING: The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini
User avatar
dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Kentucky, USA the land of Mint Juleps

Re: Update-grub made some mistakes?

Postby And7ate9 on Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:43 am

That's what I did
sudo update-grub and it removed my ubuntu entries.
I will take a look at the script later tonight.
And7ate9
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:02 pm

Re: Update-grub made some mistakes?

Postby sumski on Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:54 am

os-prober has some quirks, at least for me. Mounting partition wich has the missing OS before updating grub helps.
Acer Extensa 5630G - Core2Duo T5800 2GHz , 4 GB ram, Ati Mobility 3650.
OpenSUSE 12.1 KDE 4.7.3
Debian Sid KDE 4.7.1/2
User avatar
sumski
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:36 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 5 guests