problem installing packages via synaptic or mintinstall LMDE

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

problem installing packages via synaptic or mintinstall LMDE

Postby santiagorf on Sun Jul 31, 2011 2:09 am

Hi all,
I've installed LMDE 32bits a week ago, and since then I've been having problems installing applications with mintinstall. Every single time I run mintinstall, it freezes after either I enter the password, or I choose an application to be installed/removed.
If I use synaptic or mintupdate, I have the same luck, but after some trials/reboot I'm able to install/remove or update packages. I know LMDE is a rolling release and that this kind of problems might happen; however, as such applications are so critical I've started considering that there might be some problem in my computer.
Does anyone knows what is going on?
Thanks in advance.
santiagorf

ps: If I install/remove/upgrade using apt I have non of these problems.
santiagorf
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 3:16 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: problem installing packages via synaptic or mintinstall

Postby lepadatu.lucian on Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:34 am

try to do an upgrade to mintinstall and synaptic using apt-get and see if this solves your problem.
lepadatu.lucian
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:03 am
Location: Romania

Re: problem installing packages via synaptic or mintinstall

Postby gorade on Thu Aug 04, 2011 12:11 pm

Same problem but with LMDE 64 bit too. Synaptic works fine thoug.
User avatar
gorade
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:53 pm

Re: problem installing packages via synaptic or mintinstall

Postby santiagorf on Thu Aug 04, 2011 5:29 pm

thanks lepadatu.lucian, I tried your suggestions, but I still have the same problem.
Mintupdate is just useless, as soon as its windows shows up, it gets blank, and I have to kill it.
Similar thing with mintinstall, after the window shows up, it goes blank 50% of the time. If it doesn't, when I try to install a new application, it freezes.
Fortunately, synaptic works (most of the time), so I can install applications form there or by using apt-get install.
The update, I do it through apt-get update/upgrade-dist.
santiagorf
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 3:16 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests