LMDE - LVM install

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

LMDE - LVM install

Postby simait on Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:11 am

Hello,

I've been trying to install LMDE on a LVM partitioned disc. According to posts that I've found on this forum (http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=40961), this should be doable (at least for mint v8).

However, for me, the installer does not detect any lvm partitions (I'm guessing that mint v8 installer did not use libparted?). Is there any way to force the installer to skip the partition step (without changing the code)? Or in some other way force it to install on an lvm system?

Perhaps it would be easier to simply install it on VirtualBox and clone the installation using a live-cd, but that means I have to wait to try LMDE until I have more time and LMDE does look sweet!

Best,
Simon
simait
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:18 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE - LVM install

Postby xenopeek on Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:52 am

Linux Mint 8 was based on Ubuntu, which is quite different from the Debian based LMDE. For Debian 6, a introduction and guide to setup LVM is here: http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2011/02/16/manual-lvm-configuration-guide-for-debian-6/.

I'm not sure how relevant this is to LMDE, but worth a read.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15284
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: LMDE - LVM install

Postby simait on Thu Sep 22, 2011 3:09 am

Thanks for the reply!

Ok, guessed that the code has changed a bit. I've read the guide and, while it explains how to setup LVM for Debian, my problem is not the setup (I already have a working setup running Arch). Instead my problem is getting the installer to detect my LVM drives.

I suppose I have to install it using VirtualBox and then clone the image, when I have the time...

Thanks though! :)

-- Simon
simait
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:18 am

Re: LMDE - LVM install

Postby Elisa on Thu Sep 22, 2011 3:22 am

I have such experience that some installers allows you to get in CLI (while you are installing) to runleverl 1 where you have to use LVM commands to open it (in my case combined with LUKS).
If you do it before the regular installer will try detect your disk, the it could detect your LVM.
Linux/Unix is about freedom, Windows about slavery.

md5 / sha1 check [how-to for NEWBIES] :idea:

Image
Score: 43 I have some hippie in me. Cool, man 8)
Take the elitemrp.net "Are you a Hippie?" Test
User avatar
Elisa
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1425
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:46 am

Re: LMDE - LVM install

Postby simait on Thu Sep 22, 2011 5:26 am

That was the advice I found on the forums (for Linux Mint v8) and I've tried that (although not from runlevel 1, but before starting the installer). However, it was a no-go.

The problem seems to be the fact that the installer uses libparted, which does not support lvm yet (can only detect lvm partitions, not volumes). I'll give the VirtualBox approach a try though.
simait
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:18 am

Re: LMDE - LVM install

Postby proxima_centauri on Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:35 am

* Moved to LMDE forum

I also noticed this topic -> viewtopic.php?f=197&t=71159
User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3976
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: LMDE - LVM install

Postby simait on Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:10 am

proxima_centauri wrote:* Moved to LMDE forum

I also noticed this topic -> http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=197&t=71159


Ah, yes that would probably have worked as well! Too bad I already managed to transfer my install from VirtualBox :)

Anyway, great distro, might even stick to this one longer than Gentoo!

-- Simon
simait
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:18 am

Re: LMDE - LVM install

Postby musicaniac on Wed May 23, 2012 2:10 pm

Hi Simon,

sorry for reopening this thread, but I also have an Fedora 16 + lvm + raid (+encrypted /home) system running and would love to give your "virtualboy-movement" a try.
Would You please just summarize some steps, how you got it working?

Greethings,
David
musicaniac
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 1:59 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests