[SOLVED] LMDE missing packages

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] LMDE missing packages

Postby Darcy on Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:56 pm

I installed the latest LMDE in virtualbox to test.
I decided I liked it and tried to install on my system. It installed fine but the update process failed with a message about missing packages (neuveau/*) and suggested that I did not have the correct repos set up.

How could the same DVD install find the repos in virtualbox but not as a real install?

The message also stated that the missing packages were firmware updates.
Does this mean I have hardware issues?

I have only been able to find sparse and conflicting posts about this issue, any help is greatly appreciated. :)
Last edited by Darcy on Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I am old and senile (I think) please be nice.
Darcy
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:19 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE missing packages

Postby Oscar799 on Sun Dec 18, 2011 6:17 am

Moved here by moderator
Image
"Don't fix it if it ain't broken,don't break it if you can't fix it" Husse
Registered Linux User #511789
User avatar
Oscar799
Level 18
Level 18
 
Posts: 8841
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: LMDE missing packages

Postby gn2 on Sun Dec 18, 2011 6:38 am

Darcy wrote:How could the same DVD install find the repos in virtualbox but not as a real install?


Some things to think about:

Is your real installation succesfully connected to the internet?
VB uses the host's already working internet connection, so is almost guaranted to connect.
A real installation may not be able to use the real hardware if drivers are not available.

Have some packages downloaded but not others?
Could be that some of the repositories are offline, this happens from time to time.
Have you tried switching them to another location?
User avatar
gn2
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 893
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:54 am
Location: Bonnie Scotland

Re: LMDE missing packages

Postby Darcy on Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:32 pm

I never thought of trying a different repo site, but I installed LMDE in a new virtual box again and it still worked and yes my internet connection is working fine.
I'm going to be trying the install again to see if I missed any other error messages.
Hopefully I'll post back very soon.
I am old and senile (I think) please be nice.
Darcy
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:19 pm

Re: LMDE missing packages

Postby Darcy on Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:00 pm

I found out that neuveau/* files are the new driver files for Nvidia. They did not install this time either, the message says to add repos that are already being used, so who knows.
Unlike the last attempt the install continued and sucessfully completed -- minus the Neuveau driver.

If the Neuveau install fails just continue the install and get the 290 driver from Nvidia's website-if needed that is.
I am old and senile (I think) please be nice.
Darcy
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:19 pm


Return to Installation & Boot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests