[Solved] Black screen of death? LOL

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Cherrymint

[Solved] Black screen of death? LOL

Post by Cherrymint »

Okay... I cannot boot into LMDE. I don't know what the problem is; everything was fine (well, almost) before I restarted my machine. The software manager kept freezing up, so that is why I did a reboot. I get past grub, and then a lot of scrolling text, and then it's all black except for the blinking cursor in the upper left corner of the screen. I CAN boot into grub rescue, but I'm not sure how to use it. I'm fairly new to anything Linux, so that feature is pretty much useless for me. Even if I DID know all of the commands, I wouldn't know where to begin because I have no idea what is messed up. I've installed & uninstalled lots of stuff, so it could be anything.

Relevant(?) specs:

PC brand: None. Home-built.
Processor: AMD Athlon x3 445
Motherboard: Biostar A87OU3
RAM: 4GB G-SKILL Ripjaws
Video card: XFX ATI Radeon HD 5670
HDD: 750GB Western Digital Caviar Black
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Cherrymint

Re: Black screen of death? LOL

Post by Cherrymint »

*bump*

So, where is the actual "support" forum located? One week & 90 d@mn views later, and not one person has bothered to reply.
mbaker514

Post by mbaker514 »

Hi I'm no linux guru, but I'm a decent troubleshooter and researcher and have been using various distros for over 10 years, so let's try to figure out what happened.

Is this the first linux distro you have tried to install? I'm going to try to explain things very basically until I see your level of expertise.

Are you trying to dual boot with windows on a dedicated machine?

What are your systems specs - 32 or 64 bit processor - amount of ram - hard drive size - video card ?