upgraded to firefox14 but flashplayer down't work

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: upgraded to firefox14 but flashplayer down't work

Postby titetanium on Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:09 pm

Just so you know,

I ran an apt update and firefox and thunderbird have been updated to version 14 as of today. Looks, like I could install it over the top...or reverse my manual update and then re-install firefox and thunderbird.
titetanium
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:26 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: upgraded to firefox14 but flashplayer down't work

Postby Lone Fox on Sun Jul 29, 2012 3:51 pm

flash doesn't work for me either, or does it?

If I go to youtube, no sound and the videos are playing very fast (looks like they are on 'fast forward')

I first tried the flash installer using Software Manager, and re-installing, but that didn't work.
Then I removed flash and firefox, installed firefox and re-installed flash, didn't work.
Then I went to my /plugins folder and deleted the flash files and un-installed flash.

Keeping in mind I'm a complete newb to Linux, so I don't know how to install the 'old fashioned' way.
Lone Fox
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 3:36 pm

Re: upgraded to firefox14 but flashplayer down't work

Postby cmost on Sun Jul 29, 2012 4:54 pm

Installing flash manually isn't difficult.

First, be sure to delete or rename *-bak.so any existing flash plugins you have. You can locate them all in one fell swoop by issuing this command:

Code: Select all
locate libflashplayer.so


The most important locations are:
Code: Select all
/home/username/.mozilla/plugins (where username is YOUR username!)
/opt/mint-flashplugin-11/lib/
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
/var/lib/dpkg/alternatives/


Once you've removed or renamed all existing versions, go ahead and download the latest flash plugin from Adobe. Note the warning about future releases no longer being available for Linux. Get it here: http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/

Save the file to your /home/username/
Right-click the archive to extract it

Next, open a Terminal in the location containing libflashplayer.so and get ready to copy it to where Mozilla (and other browsers) will find it.

In the Terminal, issue the following commands to move the flash plugin to the aforementioned locations (if it didn't exist in some of them, then move anyway!)
Code: Select all
cp libflashplayer.so /home/username/.mozilla/plugins/
sudo cp libflashplayer.so /opt/mint-flashplugin-11/lib/
sudo cp libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
sudo cp libflashplayer.so /var/lib/dpkg/alternatives/


Restart your browser and see if Flash is now working correctly.
AMD Phenom II 64 X6 1090T Black Edition Hexa-Core
8 GB DDR2 RAM
nVidia GeForce GTX 660
Sabayon Linux - KDE 4.x
Linux Kernel 3.14
cmost
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Newport, Kentucky

Re: upgraded to firefox14 but flashplayer down't work

Postby titetanium on Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:33 pm

Hmm, that's strange... I have libflashplayer.so in exactly one place: /usr/lib/flashplugin-nonfree/libflashplayer.so.
Yet it still works without a problem.. the one in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins and /etc/alternatives/flash-mozilla.so are symlinks to the one file I have.


*Edited to change with to without, didn't proofread what I meant to say before posting.
Last edited by titetanium on Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
titetanium
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:26 pm

Re: upgraded to firefox14 but flashplayer down't work

Postby craigevil on Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:44 am

why do people keep saying to download from Adobe and use all kinds of silly commands to get flash working?

apt-get install flashplugin-nonfree
or use the the deb-multimedia.org repo and do
apt-get install flashplayer-mozilla
or use the LMDE package
apt-get install mint-flashplugin-11

any of the above work. You should never need to download it manually from Adobe. Nor do you need to mess with symlinking, copying or moving things around. If you have symlinks, or have copied the plugin remove everything you have done. Then use one of the commands above they will all work. This is Linux not windows you do not need to manually mess with things or go looking for plugins they are provided for you.


$ locate libflashplayer.so
/usr/lib/flashplayer-mozilla/libflashplayer.so


$ apt-cache policy flashplayer-mozilla
flashplayer-mozilla:
Installed: 3:11.2.202.236-dmo1
Candidate: 3:11.2.202.236-dmo1
Version table:
*** 3:11.2.202.236-dmo1 0
500 http://www.deb-multimedia.org/ sid/non-free i386 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

about:plugins
Name: Shockwave Flash
Version: 11.2 r202
Location: /usr/lib/flashplayer-mozilla/libflashplayer.so

Plugins
  • DivX Browser Plug-In
  • Java(TM) Plug-in 1.7.0_05
  • KParts Plugin
  • mplayerplug-in is now gecko-mediaplayer 1.0.6
  • QuickTime Plug-in 7.6.9
  • RealPlayer 9
  • Shockwave Flash
  • Windows Media Player Plug-in

Code: Select all
$ ls /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
flash-mozilla.so          gecko-mediaplayer-rm.so   libjavaplugin.so    nphelix.so
gecko-mediaplayer-dvx.so  gecko-mediaplayer.so      libkpartsplugin.so  nphelix.xpt
gecko-mediaplayer-qt.so   gecko-mediaplayer-wmp.so  libnpjp2.so         skypebuttons.so


either move .mozilla or delete the pluginreg.dat in your firefox profile , then restart your browser after installing Flash using one of the above commands. Do not I repeat do not manually download it from Adobe.

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/tr ... x-problems

FlashPlayer - Debian Wiki : http://wiki.debian.org/FlashPlayer
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole

Re: upgraded to firefox14 but flashplayer down't work

Postby cmost on Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:36 am

why do people keep saying to download from Adobe and use all kinds of silly commands to get flash working?


Um, because the poster indicated that attempting to re-install from the Software manager DIDN'T work! Duh! :roll:
AMD Phenom II 64 X6 1090T Black Edition Hexa-Core
8 GB DDR2 RAM
nVidia GeForce GTX 660
Sabayon Linux - KDE 4.x
Linux Kernel 3.14
cmost
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Newport, Kentucky

Previous

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests