Finding Nemo...........

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Finding Nemo...........

Postby xircon on Sat Aug 04, 2012 6:00 am

http://www.webupd8.org/2012/08/nemo-lin ... tilus.html

https://github.com/linuxmint/nemo

Builds OK (on LMDE tracking sid) with ./configure - make - sudo make install but I also had to do:
Code: Select all
sudo cp /home/molly3/nemo/libnemo-extension/.libs/libnemo-extension.so.1 /usr/lib/libnemo-extension.so.1

(Where molly3 is my user) to get it to run. I copied it rather than linking it as I will destroy the home/nemo folder at some point.

This technique may not work if you are using LMDE latest as it uses an older version of Nautilus.
Last edited by viking777 on Sat Aug 04, 2012 8:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Edited by moderator to indicate that the technique is version specific.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Finding Nemo...........

Postby viking777 on Sat Aug 04, 2012 6:55 am

Xircon,

It has been noticed that you posted this in the LMDE part of the forum. Can you confirm that you have built this on LMDE latest (not incoming or tracking testing or something like that). The reason for this question is that I am informed that Nautilus 3.4.2 from which Nemo is forked is not in LMDE latest yet and therefore could cause problems for those on the default version. Can you please make it clear in your post which version of LMDE you are using to prevent problems for other users trying this.

Thanks

viking777
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Finding Nemo...........

Postby xircon on Sat Aug 04, 2012 8:10 am

Yep, running Lmde tracking Sid. Required no additional packages to build

I only run LMDE nowadays, don't have time to play like I used too.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Finding Nemo...........

Postby viking777 on Sat Aug 04, 2012 8:29 am

xircon wrote:Yep, running Lmde tracking Sid. Required no additional packages to build

I only run LMDE nowadays, don't have time to play like I used too.


In that case I will amend your opening post to indicate that fact so as not to confuse others trying it on other editions. (Some people will never get as far as reading the third post!)
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Finding Nemo...........

Postby zerozero on Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:39 pm

xircon wrote: but I also had to do:
Code: Select all
sudo cp /home/molly3/nemo/libnemo-extension/.libs/libnemo-extension.so.1 /usr/lib/libnemo-extension.so.1


tks xircon, this helped :D not in lmde but in quantal.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests