Ubuntu one

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Ubuntu one

Postby ilpepe on Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:29 pm

Hi,
I recently move to Linux mint debian edition from ubuntu.

Seems to work alright, but i miss to things: multiple desktops and ubuntu one.

How do i enable ubuntu one in linux mint debian edition (mate)? i really need this.

I'm also using dropbox, but i really like ubuntu one.
ilpepe
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:23 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Ubuntu one

Postby zerozero on Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:20 pm

[moved here]
i can answer at least one: U1 it's not possible(*), it's an ubuntu-specific package and although it ran in debian previously, recent changes made that impossible.

(*) searching around i found this http://blog.pinguinplanet.de/2012/05/ub ... heezy.html
it's an overcomplicated building process from last may and says on the header
PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS AT THE MOMENT. I'M WORKING ON A BETTER AND UPDATED VERSION.

but there's no news since; use at your own risk.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Ubuntu one

Postby jasondrury on Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:16 pm

I got it working using these instructions: http://www.noobslab.com/2011/08/install ... -mint.html
jasondrury
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:45 pm

Re: Ubuntu one

Postby dritzominous on Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:33 pm

Multiple desktops? LMDE HAS multiple desktops....

If it's not already there, just add a workspace switcher to your panel. (Assuming you're using xfce)
User avatar
dritzominous
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 12:49 am

Re: Ubuntu one

Postby zerozero on Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:44 pm

jasondrury wrote:I got it working using these instructions: http://www.noobslab.com/2011/08/install ... -mint.html

in lmde?
edit: actually, now that i saw the instructions in the site i see that that is for the ubuntu-based editions of mint (as i was expecting :) )
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6489
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Ubuntu one

Postby xircon on Wed Aug 15, 2012 7:00 pm

I have it working in LMDE Cinnamon, but cannot get a panel icon:
Image

Took me hours, went round and round in dependency hell for a bit, but got there in the end.

Here is what I downloaded and installed along the way (not all correct):
Image
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests