Clonezilla & different computer?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Clonezilla & different computer?

Postby jjaythomas on Thu Sep 27, 2012 5:45 pm

Not sure where to ask This...

I've used clonezilla in past for backup on the same computer. But will it let you back up a partition and move to a different (spec) computer? :?:

Would like to use to create/install for one computer using another computer.
My wife and I each have our own computers (she usually Xubuntu) and I usually instal/config on mine then make a remastersys image and burn to a DVD or USB (last 2 version of Xubuntu) to install to hers. Then instal/config mine. Also make Common USB image (updated apps both use ect.) :wink:
Because base add/subtract lot of apps Mint Backup not fee-sable.

Would like to migrate both to a LMDE(ish) system!

Thank You
J.Jay
jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Clonezilla & different computer?

Postby GeneC on Thu Sep 27, 2012 7:03 pm

JJ

Yes, I have done this before.
Both computers had Nvidia drivers installed, and no wifi.

Of course, there things to consider.
(Some are obvious, but...)

1. No 64 bit to 32 bit system
2. Be aware of what graphics card drivers you have on the cloned partition.
3. Also what hardware compatibly issues may come up.
4. Partition on new computer, must be the same size or larger than cloned partition.
5. Generally SDA1 to SDA1 (et). Though it is possible to install clone SDA1(or whatever) to another partition (SDA2). See Clonezilla help.

http://clonezilla.org/show-live-doc-con ... disk_image

http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/clonezilla.html

Dont forget to
Code: Select all
sudo update-grub
GeneC

AMD Phenom2x4 3.2 ghz, 12GB DDR3, Nvidia GTX 460

Qiana (Cinnamon)
Sparky XFCE (Debian Testing)
EvolveOS (Budgie)
User avatar
GeneC
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Maine, USA

Re: Clonezilla & different computer?

Postby jjaythomas on Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:40 pm

Thank you Gene
1. No 64 bit to 32 bit system
2. Be aware of what graphics card drivers you have on the cloned partition.
3. Also what hardware compatibly issues may come up.
4. Partition on new computer, must be the same size or larger than cloned partition.
5. Generally SDA1 to SDA1 (et). Though it is possible to install clone SDA1(or whatever) to another partition (SDA2). See Clonezilla help.


1. both 64 bits
2.don,t install Proprietary Graphic drivers (WIFI drivers both in default kernel). Till on actual (final) hardware. Same as recommend on 'Remastersys"
3.None that now of :roll:
4. Thanks remind forgot about that (shrinking partition (/home :oops: )
5. Not applicable

Not shaking (if wife pissed) if done anymore
(at least less :lol: )
J.Jay

Edit #4 'Oh good I have the smaller HD this time around' :mrgreen: Each 4 primaries both 16GB /, swap no need clone, /home (I'm smaller :P ), fat 32 (for coping ect.) no need clone.
jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm

Re: Clonezilla & different computer? (answered)

Postby jjaythomas on Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:57 pm

Also...

Links good reads Gene (Thanks again)

to elaborate 1 is the system to system cloning. I personally used Clonzilla (Live Disk) 64 bit to 'clone partion of TC100 (32bit only) for backup (oops insurance :P )

J.Jay
jjaythomas
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:52 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests