libzip1 for LMDE?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

libzip1 for LMDE?

Postby Quasimodo on Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:32 pm

I recently decided to move from Linux Mint 12 to LMDE on my Aspire One netbook. I'm now setting up the various apps which I had running on Mint 12, including the Linux version of the Kobo desktop. Unfortunately when I tried to run kobo-desktop.deb to install the Kobo desktop, it complained that the dependency for libzip1 couldn't be satisfied. I see that according to Synaptic, libzip1 isn't available - presumably it's been replaced by libzip2. Can anyone suggest the way round this please? At a guess, it may be possible to keep dpkg happy by providing a symlink to point to libzip2 but pretend it's libzip1, but I'm afraid I don't know which of the several instances of libzip2 the link would need to point to...

Thanks in advance for any help

Ian
Quasimodo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:18 am
Location: Newbury, Berkshire, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: libzip1 for LMDE?

Postby zerozero on Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:06 pm

[moved here]
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: libzip1 for LMDE?

Postby Quasimodo on Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:15 pm

Oops, sorry, should have looked further down the main index :(

Ian
Quasimodo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:18 am
Location: Newbury, Berkshire, UK

Re: libzip1 for LMDE?

Postby zerozero on Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:21 pm

no problem :D
i'm afraid i can't help you with this issue: libzip1 was deprecated in debian and also ubuntu to libzip2 and you can find several hits on google about this same problem;

probably the best option would be to contact the dev. so they can update the dependencies of the app.
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/990314
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.p ... 67138.html
http://packages.debian.org/search?suite ... ds=libzip1
(see that libzip1 is only available in stable and in less well known archs)
http://packages.debian.org/search?suite ... ds=libzip2
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: libzip1 for LMDE? [SOLVED]

Postby Quasimodo on Mon Oct 01, 2012 5:37 am

Thanks for your tolerance :)

I found a copy of libzip1 here:
Code: Select all
https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+archive/primary/+files/libzip1_0.9.3-1_i386.deb

installed it, and the Linux version of Kobo desktop is now running happily on my netbook.

Ian
Quasimodo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:18 am
Location: Newbury, Berkshire, UK

Re: libzip1 for LMDE?

Postby zerozero on Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:44 am

ohh well, i wouldn't consider it a fix, not so much for resort to an ubuntu package but mainly because imo in the next dist-upgrade that package will be replaced by libzip2.
try a simulation
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get -s dist-upgrade
User avatar
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6435
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AdamFirst and 6 guests