Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Linux Mint

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Mr. Green

Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Linux Mint

Post by Mr. Green »

Hello Mint Comunity. :)

I hope this is posted in the 'right' place. I am a complete newcomer to LMDE, and to Linux based Operating Systems in general, but have many years of working with that 'other' OS under my belt, so not a stranger to computing.

I have some recent experience in running a live TAILS usb (which is based on Debian for anyone not aware of tails). It was this enjoyable first encounter with Debian that led to my developing a greater interest in Linux, and having spent some weeks investigating further, I settled on LMDE as the 'right' distro for me.

After spending some days deciding on my next moves, I set up an LMDE guest in VirtualBox to see how things would go. I was attracted to the ability to save the state of the machine and take snapshots incase my inexperience led to any undesireable results.

After much trial and error, and many hours over many evenings of searching engines and forums for help (and scrapping a couple of VM's for failed installations and inability to get the Guest Additions working correctly, I finally achieved success on my third attempt, and sat back to revell in the fruits of my labours: a lovely working LMDE VBox guest.

I successfully installed all my updates and upgrades through the CLI, and even got the Guest Additions working. I set up all my required Firefox add-ons (NoScript/AdBlock Plus, HTTPS Everywhere etc.) and then spent some time compiling an array of visually attractive backgrounds/themes etc, and very pleased with the look and feel of my new LMDE guest - I saved the state of the machine successfully, and called it a night.

My delight was cut short today however, as when I went to start up my new machine, I encountered the following error:
Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Linux Mint Debian Edition.