Banshee keeps resetting volume to 100%

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Banshee keeps resetting volume to 100%

Postby Brian777 on Tue Feb 18, 2014 1:28 am

During the past few days, Banshee has started resetting the volume to 100% whenever I start it up, and sometimes when I just double click on a song in the list. This is extremely annoying, to say the least. Is there any known fix for this other than, say, dumping Banshee and trying Rhythmbox or some other program?

I am using LMDE Cinnamon Edition on a Dell desktop; I forget the model number but it is several years old.

Thanks.
Brian777
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 2:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Banshee keeps resetting volume to 100%

Postby hubert.banas on Fri Mar 28, 2014 9:41 am

Any updates on this? I'm seeing same behavior.
Thanks
User avatar
hubert.banas
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 2:24 pm

Re: Banshee keeps resetting volume to 100%

Postby killer de bug on Fri Mar 28, 2014 10:35 am

This is related to flat volume.

Solution is explained here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/PulseAudio
Per-application volumes change when the Master volume is adjusted

This is because PulseAudio uses flat volumes by default, instead of relative volumes, relative to an absolute master volume. If this is found to be inconvenient, asinine, or otherwise undesireable, relative volumes can be enabled by disabling flat volumes in the PulseAudio daemon's configuration file:

Code: Select all
/etc/pulse/daemon.conf

Code: Select all
flat-volumes = no

Code: Select all
$ pulseaudio -k

Code: Select all
$ pulseaudio --start
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2067
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Banshee keeps resetting volume to 100%

Postby hubert.banas on Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:04 pm

Unfortunately this solution is not working for me. BTW this is only when using Banshee. VLC for example works fine. Any other suggestions?
User avatar
hubert.banas
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 2:24 pm

Re: Banshee keeps resetting volume to 100%

Postby queson on Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:27 pm

I did as You wrote in your first post- (replaced Banshee with Rythmbox) and it works perfectly
queson
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 5:17 am

Re: Banshee keeps resetting volume to 100%

Postby hubert.banas on Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:33 pm

Yes Rythmbox works for me too but it doesn't integrate as nicely with OS as Banshee does. The current Banshee in LMDE is 2.6.1 and the one in Debian testing is 2.6.2 so maybe trying Banshee 2.6.2 from testing? Any thoughts?
User avatar
hubert.banas
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 2:24 pm

Re: Banshee keeps resetting volume to 100%

Postby hubert.banas on Fri Mar 28, 2014 5:46 pm

Another bug in Banshee I noticed when I take master volume down to 0 will bring banshee volume to 0 as well which is expected. But then later I bring master volume up with no problems but banshee still stays at 0.
User avatar
hubert.banas
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 2:24 pm

Re: Banshee keeps resetting volume to 100%

Postby Zakep on Tue Apr 29, 2014 2:00 pm

Works for me. Post as solved?
Zakep
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:59 pm

Re: Banshee keeps resetting volume to 100%

Postby Rindo on Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:02 am

I have the exact same two problems: the volume is 100% when I play song (which is very annoying with my headphones on) and once I drop the volume to 0%, it stops the sound of the song even when I put the volume back up (the song is playing but with no sound)
I tried the solution above but it's not working.
I'm using lmde also
Rindo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 5:57 am

Re: Banshee keeps resetting volume to 100%

Postby Rindo on Sun Jan 11, 2015 7:12 am

As an alternative, I'm using audacious. It has some plugins that permits it to be closed to tray and have a pretty good integration with cinnamon. just what I needed
Rindo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 5:57 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests