LMDE MATE not working

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

LMDE MATE not working

Postby Minterator on Fri Mar 07, 2014 10:37 am

I just discovered LMDE completely by accident. Neat concept, it does away with ubuntu and is auto-updating. But if it pooches, ya gotta fix it?

First I installed in VM under host LM13. Installs fine, but Synaptic & software manager are unable to fetch anything. Error msg claims problem with internet connection, but Firefox works just fine. Also, Preferences > Appearance works the first time, after it that crashes & requires system reset.

Next I tried installing to bare metal AMD Sabertooth R2.0 machine. Boot menu OK, but appears to hang at USB3 detection, both in standard & recovery mode.

Time wasted: ~2hrs
Linux Mint 13 MATE 64-bit
User avatar
Minterator
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:29 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMDE MATE not working

Postby Minterator on Fri Mar 07, 2014 10:56 am

Synaptic error:


Code: Select all
W: Failed to fetch http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/pool/main/libg/libglademm2.4/libglademm-2.4-1c2a_2.6.7-2_amd64.deb
  500  Internal Server Error


W: Failed to fetch http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/pool/main/g/gnome-color-chooser/gnome-color-chooser_0.2.5-1_amd64.deb
  404  Not Found
Linux Mint 13 MATE 64-bit
User avatar
Minterator
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:29 am

Re: LMDE MATE not working

Postby Monsta on Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:38 am

There's some issue with this mirror. Switch to another one using Software Sources (or mintsources from the terminal).
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2497
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: LMDE MATE not working

Postby Zorba on Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:49 am

Monsta wrote:There's some issue with this mirror. Switch to another one using Software Sources (or mintsources from the terminal).



Miracle :shock: This fixed my issue here http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=190&t=161626

Maaany thanks :D
Image
User avatar
Zorba
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2308
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 10:12 pm
Location: Tunisia

Re: LMDE MATE not working

Postby Minterator on Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:41 pm

Another problem: OS randomly starts opening x-caja-desktop windows indefinitely... hundreds of them.
Linux Mint 13 MATE 64-bit
User avatar
Minterator
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:29 am

Re: LMDE MATE not working

Postby Jim Shaffer on Sun Mar 16, 2014 4:36 pm

Minterator wrote:Another problem: OS randomly starts opening x-caja-desktop windows indefinitely... hundreds of them.


I just ran into this today and I'd love to know if there's a solution.

I've been testing LMDE in Virtualbox for a while, and the worst problem I had was that sometimes the menu wouldn't appear -- there would be no menu button in the taskbar. But I had also experimented with a lot of themes -- a LOT of themes -- so I assumed that I had somehow broken it with a bad theme. But it always came back if I restarted.

Two days ago I installed LMDE to a partition. Everything seemed OK until today when suddenly I got the infinite x-caja-desktop windows. I don't even know what I was doing when it happened. I managed to log out and back in, when not only did I get the infinite windows again (NOT the TEN windows that I keep seeing bug reports about when trying to search for this problem, an infinite number!), but also the menu button was missing! I shutdown the system by opening a terminal by right-clicking on the desktop and quickly dragging it to a corner that wasn't being covered by caja windows. I rebooted to Windows and haven't gone back since to see if it's going to happen every time. But it's very frustrating that other than you, NOBODY seems to be reporting this same problem.
Jim Shaffer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 9:27 pm

Re: LMDE MATE not working

Postby Minterator on Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:24 pm

Jim Shaffer wrote:
Minterator wrote:Another problem: OS randomly starts opening x-caja-desktop windows indefinitely... hundreds of them.


I just ran into this today and I'd love to know if there's a solution.

I've been testing LMDE in Virtualbox for a while, and the worst problem I had was that sometimes the menu wouldn't appear -- there would be no menu button in the taskbar. But I had also experimented with a lot of themes -- a LOT of themes -- so I assumed that I had somehow broken it with a bad theme. But it always came back if I restarted.

Two days ago I installed LMDE to a partition. Everything seemed OK until today when suddenly I got the infinite x-caja-desktop windows. I don't even know what I was doing when it happened. I managed to log out and back in, when not only did I get the infinite windows again (NOT the TEN windows that I keep seeing bug reports about when trying to search for this problem, an infinite number!), but also the menu button was missing! I shutdown the system by opening a terminal by right-clicking on the desktop and quickly dragging it to a corner that wasn't being covered by caja windows. I rebooted to Windows and haven't gone back since to see if it's going to happen every time. But it's very frustrating that other than you, NOBODY seems to be reporting this same problem.


It happens when you click on something in caja. A bad loop in the code.
Linux Mint 13 MATE 64-bit
User avatar
Minterator
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:29 am

Re: LMDE MATE not working

Postby Monsta on Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:39 pm

Today's update of Caja (1.6.2-3+lmde) should hopefully fix the issue with these x-caja-desktop windows.
Monsta
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2497
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: LMDE MATE not working

Postby Windowsfree2013 on Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:59 pm

Monsta wrote:Today's update of Caja (1.6.2-3+lmde) should hopefully fix the issue with these x-caja-desktop windows.


Thanks for this info, this has been happening randomly to me. I will update later today.
~ Bob
User avatar
Windowsfree2013
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 8:33 am
Location: United States

Re: LMDE MATE not working

Postby Windowsfree2013 on Sat Mar 22, 2014 12:47 pm

since the update, i have not had this issue
~ Bob
User avatar
Windowsfree2013
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 8:33 am
Location: United States

Re: LMDE MATE not working

Postby austin.texas on Sat Mar 22, 2014 2:17 pm

I am glad it worked for you !
Last edited by austin.texas on Sun Mar 23, 2014 9:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mint 17 v2 Cinnamon (64 bit), Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Microsoft-free environment since 1996

To help Linux Mint with a donation, please visit http://www.linuxmint.com/donors.php
User avatar
austin.texas
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3662
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: LMDE MATE not working

Postby Minterator on Sun Mar 23, 2014 8:46 am

Drop-drop files in caja doesn't work either. Copies one file/dir then stops.
Linux Mint 13 MATE 64-bit
User avatar
Minterator
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:29 am

Re: LMDE MATE - Caja window driving me CRAZY(er)!

Postby jharris1993 on Sun Apr 20, 2014 1:59 am

Windowsfree2013 wrote:since the update, i have not had this issue

I have just installed Mint 13, 64 bit, MATE desktop, fully up-to-date, and I am still having this annoying issue where the caja desktop window periodically shows up. One instance only, but it shows up.

I was messing with Mint 16, and the Mate desktop there did not appear to have this issue (AFAIK), but in 13 its a pain in the tush.

I've tried editing the conf file and setting auto restart to false. One poster in another thread suggested adding "--sync", but didn't specify where or how.
Viz.: https://github.com/mate-desktop/caja/issues/100

Synaptic shows Caja fully up-to-date as of this instant date (April 20th, 2014).

Any ideas short of two sticks of dynamite or a 12 gage double-barreled shotgun?
(I'd really prefer to use either one of those on my M$ box that needs a bare-metal reinstall every year or so just to clean out the cruft!)

What say ye?

Jim (J.R.)

Update:

A workaround that seems to work for me - at least it has so far - is to select the session selector at login, and select "Xclient Script" instead of Mate. I'd like to know if this works for anyone else too.

This is really annoying, and I'd like to see a permenant, permentant fix.
Some see things as they are, and ask "Why?"
I dream things that never were, and ask "Why Not".

Robert F. Kennedy

“Impossible” is only found in the dictionary of a fool.
Old Chinese Proverb
jharris1993
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:43 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests