I can't install with software manager

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

I can't install with software manager

Postby aurquiel on Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:19 pm

I did a fresh install everything is working fine but i can't install applications with the software manager, the software manager opens correctly and shows the applications but when i double click in any applicaction nothing happens.
aurquiel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:08 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: I can't install with software manager

Postby Kalyk on Fri Apr 11, 2014 2:42 am

Did you also try synaptic, it is also in the menu.
And if the command line doesn't scare you then try
Code: Select all
apt-get update
apt-get install something

The advantage of doing apt-get is that error messages come through directly so you see what is wrong.
And if you don't know what it means then just past it in this forumpost.
Add (Solved) to the topic-title of the first post when appropriate so others know they might find a solution here.
User avatar
Kalyk
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 5:29 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: I can't install with software manager

Postby py-thon on Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:03 am

The software manager sometimes is buggy in my experience. Probably it works fine after the next reboot.
If you don't like Kalyk's solution via terminal and prefer something with GUI you can also use the package management (synaptic) to install or uninstall packages. The disadvantage of both solutions is that you already have to know the name of the package/program you want to install whereas the software manager let's you search for something and gives some information about the program.
Tower: Sparky 64 bit Mate+mintmenu - Netbook: LMDE Mate 32bit
py-thon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 2:24 pm
Location: Paraguay

Re: I can't install with software manager

Postby Crewp on Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:54 pm

aurquiel wrote:I did a fresh install everything is working fine but i can't install applications with the software manager, the software manager opens correctly and shows the applications but when i double click in any applicaction nothing happens.


I had the same trouble, it is a bug, and has been reported. Hopefully, the dev's will come up with a fix.
Image
User avatar
Crewp
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 779
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:36 pm
Location: Connecticut


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests