A worry about LMDE's ability to multitask

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

A worry about LMDE's ability to multitask

Postby Stevenwrig on Sun May 04, 2014 7:13 am

Hi all,

I upgraded to LMDE a couple of weeks ago and have notice a strange behaviour that was not there in LM13.

When I'm copying large files (5-60 gig) to my backup disk and start to perform another function so as watch a Youtube video while the copy is running, the whole copy function seems to crash and I need to reboot my box. The processor, prior to starting a web browser is running at about 2-3%.

So now, until this is resolved just just leave the copy function working which is a bit sad given what LMDE should be able to provide.

Any ideas? Is this just a config setting?

Thanks guys (and gals).

Steve.
Stevenwrig
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 9:31 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: A worry about LMDE's ability to multitask

Postby Pierre on Sun May 04, 2014 8:41 am

might be just a personal thing, but typically won't multi task, when moving files around,
particularly when via a USB connection, as there have been the odd failure(s).

also won't multi task when D/Ling a ISO, - as also won't risk it. ..
Image
User avatar
Pierre
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1814
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: A worry about LMDE's ability to multitask

Postby kurotsugi on Mon May 05, 2014 8:45 am

if you're using nemo it could be the effect of an old bug in nemo.
kurotsugi
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:54 am

Re: A worry about LMDE's ability to multitask

Postby Stevenwrig on Tue May 06, 2014 2:06 pm

Hi guys,

Does anyone else have some possible solutions please?

Regards,
Stevenwrig
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 9:31 am


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests