ipod touch in rhythmbox

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

ipod touch in rhythmbox

Postby ChromeMukuro on Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:22 am

i am attempting to once again plug my ipod touch into my computer to sync music. LMDE sees it, mounts it as a drive, but i cannot get it to appear in rhythmbox. what do i need to do for this to happen?
avatar by aramynthya

...don’t mourn your luck that’s failing now...
~The God Abandons Anthony
User avatar
ChromeMukuro
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:17 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: ipod touch in rhythmbox

Postby richyrich on Thu Nov 25, 2010 10:29 am

what do i need to do for this to happen?


Go to Apple and tell them to port it to Linux.

viewtopic.php?f=47&t=59890&p=342577&hilit=ipod#p342577
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4638
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: ipod touch in rhythmbox

Postby ChromeMukuro on Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:50 pm

well short of talking to apple, i installed libimobiledevice and dependencies, as well as other related apps i use (looking at my install of LM10 for the app list, as well as my LM9) and it still does not work. i have not tried rebooting however... might that be why it is not showing up?
avatar by aramynthya

...don’t mourn your luck that’s failing now...
~The God Abandons Anthony
User avatar
ChromeMukuro
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: ipod touch in rhythmbox

Postby chinapeak on Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:55 am

I'm also having problems getting my ipod touch recognised in linux mint. I'm not sure if this helpful, but I found a page that suggests why it doesn't work and also a possible fix: http://libiphone.lighthouseapp.com/proj ... t-detected

A user suggests: "Modify two places:
1. In daemon/usb.h, change #define PID_RANGE_MAX 0x129a to #define PID_RANGE_MAX 0x129f. Recompile usbmuxd with cmake, install it.
2. Modify udev rules to recongize ipod touch 4g. In /lib/udev/rules.d/85-usbmuxd.rules, change ATTR{idProduct}=="129[0-9a]" to ATTR{idProduct}=="129[0-9ae]". Restart udev by "sudo restart udev"."

The problem with this is that in linux mint there isn't a file called 85-usbmuxd.rules in the rules.d folder. Also I'm not sure how to modify usb.h.

I haven't tried installing latest released usbmuxd 1.0.6 version, my system is busy installing the latest mint updates. I might give this option a whirl once it's finished.
chinapeak
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:42 am

Re: ipod touch in rhythmbox

Postby richyrich on Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:52 am

Gosh . . I gave you folks the link in my first post . . https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Porta ... ces/iPhone
User avatar
richyrich
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4638
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: ipod touch in rhythmbox

Postby ChromeMukuro on Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:45 am

i followed the link, however the software for it is not installed here on LMDE by default. of course i installed. i then shut down rhythmbox, reopened, and my ipod still did not show up in rhythmbox
avatar by aramynthya

...don’t mourn your luck that’s failing now...
~The God Abandons Anthony
User avatar
ChromeMukuro
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:17 pm

Re: ipod touch in rhythmbox

Postby Brazcan on Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:36 pm

Any confirmed solutions for this problem in sight? I am looking forward to making the switch to LMDE, but only if I can sync my ipod with rythmbox. Running as LiveCD had the same problem reported above: ipod mounts but is not recognized by Rythmbox. Quite frustrating, since LDME is supposed to have all the features of Mint 10.
Brazcan
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:31 pm

Re: ipod touch in rhythmbox

Postby rameshkarthik on Mon Apr 04, 2011 1:05 pm

Hi,

I'm also facing a similar issues where my rhythmbox was able to show the iPod in Devices. But when I click the iPod icon under devices I'm getting no songs that are present in my iPod and I'm sure that there are more than 1000 songs in my iPod.

Also when I try to add songs into iPod by dragging the songs and dropping them on the iPod icon nothing is happening. This was working perfectly in linux mint 9 but currently I have linux mint 10

Any help would be appreciated
Regards,
K.Ramesh Karthik.

Processor: P4 2.4 ghz Motherboard: D845 Motherboard RAM: 1 GB
HDD: 40 GB HDD with 9 GB for Linux Mint OS: Dual boot (Win XP and Linux Mint 10 Julia Gnome edition)
User avatar
rameshkarthik
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 3:25 pm
Location: Chennai, India

Re: ipod touch in rhythmbox

Postby tommiechan on Sun Jul 17, 2011 12:37 pm

i have an iPod shuffle and when i first plugged in the USB connector thing, it showed up in Rythmbox. It gave me the little loading bar thing in the bottom for 10 minutes. I got fed up and "x"d out. I went to Rythmbox again with renewed patience but it wasn't even recognized as a device. I did the whole safely unplug rigmarole thing and unplugged it and replugged it and it still doesn't work. Any ideas as to how i can get it to show up? I have Mint 9
tommiechan
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 12:23 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests