Firefox not installed? [SOLVED]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Firefox not installed? [SOLVED]

Postby Scorpio_Snake on Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:18 am

So I tried to open Firefox today. I get this:
Code: Select all
~ $ firefox
The program 'firefox' is currently not installed.  To run 'firefox' please ask your administrator to install the package 'iceweasel'
firefox: command not found


But yet
Code: Select all
~ $ aptitude search firefox
i   firefox                         - The Firefox web browser 


Code: Select all
 ~ $ aptitude show firefox
Package: firefox                         
New: yes
State: installed
Automatically installed: no
Version: 3.6.13-1linuxmint1
Priority: optional
Section: web
Maintainer: Clement Lefebvre <root@linuxmint.com>
Uncompressed Size: 29.2 M
Depends: firefox-l10n | firefox-l10n-en-us
Description: The Firefox web browser
 The Mozilla Firefox Web Browser.
Last edited by Scorpio_Snake on Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Scorpio_Snake
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:22 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Firefox not installed?

Postby ShexNivis on Thu Dec 30, 2010 1:06 pm

try creating a symlink to it:
sudo ln -s /opt/firefox/firefox /usr/bin/firefox
best torrent client ever: http://www.tixati.com
User avatar
ShexNivis
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:25 pm

Re: Firefox not installed?

Postby sgosnell on Thu Dec 30, 2010 1:31 pm

Firefox is installed in /opt, for some reason, and /opt is not in your path.
Code: Select all
/opt/firefox/firefox
should cause it to run. It's usually run from a menu, not from the command line. Creating the symlink should let you run it from the command line without specifying the path.
Asus eee-pc 900 w/ 32GB SSD.
sgosnell
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 9:32 pm
Location: Baja Oklahoma

Re: Firefox not installed?

Postby vrkalak on Thu Dec 30, 2010 1:39 pm

What do you get, in the terminal, when you type, just: firefox
Do not use sudo firefox you don't want to open it with root/admin privileges

Maybe, go into the Synaptic Manager and check Firefox for Complete Removal ... then, re-install.

Was this problem with the 'default' firefox? Or an upgraded version?

Consult the Firefox Help Forum > http://forums.mozillazine.org/ or http://www.techsupportforum.com/alterna ... -browsers/
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I have had problems with Firefox browser in other Debian OS's before, quite often actually.
Perhaps, you can try installing the Iceweasel version better (seems more stable, to me) ... it's in the repros.

Or use another browser? Opera 10 or Chromium-browser are in the repros, as well.
Image
:: LinuxMint-Debian-Edition (Fluxbox) :: Manjaro/Arch (Xfce) ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: DeviantART Page
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3292
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Firefox not installed?

Postby ShexNivis on Thu Dec 30, 2010 1:48 pm

vrkalak wrote:What do you get, in the terminal, when you type, just: firefox
Do not use sudo firefox you don't want to open it with root/admin privileges

Maybe, go into the Synaptic Manager and check Firefox for Complete Removal ... then, re-install.

Was this problem with the 'default' firefox? Or an upgraded version?

Consult the Firefox Help Forum > http://forums.mozillazine.org/ or http://www.techsupportforum.com/alterna ... -browsers/
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I have had problems with Firefox browser in other Debian OS's before, quite often actually.
Perhaps, you can try installing the Iceweasel version better (seems more stable, to me) ... it's in the repros.

Or use another browser? Opera 10 or Chromium-browser are in the repros, as well.


It's just a problem with firefox from mint's repo. For some reason the new .deb from it doesn't have the link on /usr/bin
best torrent client ever: http://www.tixati.com
User avatar
ShexNivis
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:25 pm

Re: Firefox not installed?

Postby Scorpio_Snake on Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:11 am

ShexNivis wrote:try creating a symlink to it:
sudo ln -s /opt/firefox/firefox /usr/bin/firefox


Creating the symlink worked. I am not sure why it changed as it was working fine the other day.

The version is an upgraded version.
Scorpio_Snake
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:22 am


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests