Can not load Skype. {SOLVED}

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Can not load Skype. {SOLVED}

Postby Seca on Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:33 am

Whenever I try to run Skype, I get a slew of messages like 'Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module": /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/modules/libcanberra-gtk-module.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64' in the terminal.

I've already installed ia32-libs-gtk and have had this program running in a past installation on the same hardware. Any help or hints in the right direction would be appreciated. Lmde -fully updated as of 1-20-2011.

{SOLVED}Skype was pulling in qt libraries from a separate partition. I unmounted the offending partition and now Skype loads.

Elisa: http://forum.skype.com/index.php?showtopic=95626 (which was linked to through the first link you posted) is the link that helped me. I ran the command ldd /usr/bin/skype | grep -i Qt and realized that the qt libraries were indeed accessible through my chroot. Pulling from different qt libraries caused a fatal error in Skype. Removing the chroot fixed the qt errors. The other errors are still there but aren't fatal.

This fix won't apply to other users unless running a chroot. For other users that experience a similar problem of skype not starting, check to make sure that you don't have two different versions of qt installed.
Thanks for the links peeps.
Last edited by Seca on Thu Jan 20, 2011 1:18 pm, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
Seca
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:03 pm
Location: Cocoa, Florida

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can not load Skype.

Postby Habitual on Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:18 am

My DorkBlog
Cirrhus9.com - Managed HA VDSs and Scalable grid solutions.
User avatar
Habitual
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1926
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Under the hood

Re: Can not load Skype.

Postby Seca on Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:27 am

Yeah,I saw that thread. I remember from before, skype would say something to the effect of libmurrine no longer used and then launch right up. Not so in this install.
User avatar
Seca
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:03 pm
Location: Cocoa, Florida

Re: Can not load Skype.

Postby Elisa on Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:47 am

Linux/Unix is about freedom, Windows about slavery.

md5 / sha1 check [how-to for NEWBIES] :idea:

Image
Score: 43 I have some hippie in me. Cool, man 8)
Take the elitemrp.net "Are you a Hippie?" Test
User avatar
Elisa
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1425
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:46 am

Re: Can not load Skype. {SOLVED}

Postby tux_errante on Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:42 pm

Hi !
I've the same error and distribution (LDME) but the problem isn't that skype don't start, is the crash after clicking on the webcam configuration !
The webcam works fine with Cheese, emesene and on..
I've just tried this but nothing ..

This is what I've wrote :
I'm sorry, but skype still crashing, after I've tried both methods.. any help ?

driver uvcvideo
card videowebcam
Linux mint Debian kernel 2.6.32-5amd64, Gnome

here's the output:

alessandro@alex-pc ~ $ skype
Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module": /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/modules/libcanberra-gtk-module.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64

(:27358): Gtk-WARNING **: /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/engines/libmurrine.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64

(:27358): Gtk-WARNING **: /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/engines/libclearlooks.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64
/usr/local/bin/skype: line 2: 27358 Segmentation fault LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib32/libv4l/v4l2convert.so /usr/bin/skype


any ideas ?
tux_errante
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:28 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests