My Firefox is broken

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

My Firefox is broken

Postby guddl on Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:51 pm

hi together,

i don't know how - but i have broken my firefox.

when i start firefox i only get the following window:

Image

i've delete mit ~/.mozilla directory and although a "apt-get install --reinstall firefox" didn't fix it :(

someone a hint?

cheers,
guddl
guddl
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 1:05 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: My Firefox is broken

Postby vincent on Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:36 am

If you say you've completely deleted your .mozilla directory and FF still won't work with a clean profile, then I doubt this will work, but try this anyways:
Code: Select all
firefox -safe-mode
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: My Firefox is broken

Postby viking777 on Fri Mar 11, 2011 9:09 am

If you are running it from a menu shortcut then try running it from a terminal instead. If that works then delete the shortcut and recreate it. That worked for me when I had this happen.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: My Firefox is broken

Postby guddl on Fri Mar 11, 2011 10:20 am

hi,

with
Code: Select all
firefox -safe-mode

from the command line i get the same light-yellow windows :?
cheers,
guddl
guddl
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 1:05 am

Re: My Firefox is broken

Postby viking777 on Fri Mar 11, 2011 11:18 am

Have you been trying out Firefox 4? That is what caused it to happen in my case. I first had to remove FF4 and then redo the menu shortcuts to get FF3 back again.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests