My Firefox is broken

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Important information

My Firefox is broken

Postby guddl on Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:51 pm

hi together,

i don't know how - but i have broken my firefox.

when i start firefox i only get the following window:

Image

i've delete mit ~/.mozilla directory and although a "apt-get install --reinstall firefox" didn't fix it :(

someone a hint?

cheers,
guddl
guddl
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 1:05 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: My Firefox is broken

Postby vincent on Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:36 am

If you say you've completely deleted your .mozilla directory and FF still won't work with a clean profile, then I doubt this will work, but try this anyways:
Code: Select all
firefox -safe-mode
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2220
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: My Firefox is broken

Postby viking777 on Fri Mar 11, 2011 9:09 am

If you are running it from a menu shortcut then try running it from a terminal instead. If that works then delete the shortcut and recreate it. That worked for me when I had this happen.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5156
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: My Firefox is broken

Postby guddl on Fri Mar 11, 2011 10:20 am

hi,

with
Code: Select all
firefox -safe-mode

from the command line i get the same light-yellow windows :?
cheers,
guddl
guddl
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 1:05 am

Re: My Firefox is broken

Postby viking777 on Fri Mar 11, 2011 11:18 am

Have you been trying out Firefox 4? That is what caused it to happen in my case. I first had to remove FF4 and then redo the menu shortcuts to get FF3 back again.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5156
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest