cairo dock errors

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

cairo dock errors

Postby kbkatz1 on Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:00 pm

Just installed cairo-dock on LMDE, the problem is it will not launch unless I type: cairo-dock -c in a Terminal. Cairo-dock will work correctly from the LMDE LiveDVD though. The only issue I have been having with LMDE is my ATI Radeon 9700 video card doesn't seem to support compiz or any of the available Catalyst Drivers. I am not concerned about that right now, I would just like to get cairo-dock working. Any suggestions?

Here is what I get in my Terminal window:
Code: Select all
ken@Dell-Dimension ~ $ cairo-dock -c

 ============================================================================
   Cairo-Dock version: 2.1.3-10-lucid
   Compiled date:  Oct  8 2010 22:58:59
   Running with OpenGL: 0
 ============================================================================

cairo_dock_replace_values_in_conf_file (/home/ken/.config/cairo-dock/current_theme/plug-ins/help/help.conf)
warning :  (cairo-dock-keyfile-utilities.c:cairo_dock_replace_key_values:141) 
  Key file does not have key 'forum'
warning :  (cairo-dock-keyfile-utilities.c:cairo_dock_replace_key_values:141) 
  Key file does not have key 'wiki'
warning :  (cairo-dock-keyfile-utilities.c:cairo_dock_replace_key_values:141) 
  Key file does not have group 'Join the project !'
warning :  (cairo-dock-keyfile-utilities.c:cairo_dock_replace_key_values:141) 
  Key file does not have group 'Join the project !'
warning :  (cairo-dock-keyfile-utilities.c:cairo_dock_replace_key_values:141) 
  Key file does not have group 'Join the project !'
warning :  (cairo-dock-keyfile-utilities.c:cairo_dock_replace_key_values:141) 
  Key file does not have group 'Join the project !'
_cd_find_volume_name_from_drive_name: assertion `pDrive != NULL' failed
_cd_find_volume_name_from_drive_name: assertion `pDrive != NULL' failed
warning :  (cairo-dock-keyfile-utilities.c:cairo_dock_open_key_file:34) 
  No such file or directory
clock : default needle size
separateur necessaire

LMDE
LM17 "Quiana"
Peppermint 5
ClearOS Server
User avatar
kbkatz1
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 4:28 pm
Location: U.S.A

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: cairo dock errors

Postby tdockery97 on Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:24 pm

I hope you find a way to get it to work well with LMDE. I never could. I installed and use AWN on LMDE.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
Registered Linux User #520972
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4869
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: cairo dock errors

Postby LongRider on Wed Mar 23, 2011 5:42 am

Been using Cairo-dock with LMDE for about a month now. No problems at all. Am using LMDE/32 at the moment, if that makes any difference?
HP Pavillion DV7 laptop, AMD Turion X2/64, 250 GB HD, 4GB ram, Atheros AR5001 wifi, Cisco WRT54GS router, Buffalo Linkstation Quad 4TB NAS w/Raid 5, Dual Booting: LM9-64bit/Gnome + LMDE. Life is good!
User avatar
LongRider
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 4:40 pm
Location: Florida, New York, Texas (soon)

Re: cairo dock errors

Postby twa on Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:33 am

Schermata.png
kbkatz1,
your ATI card requires the libgl1-mesa-dri package.
then go to System>Preferences>Desktop Settings
on the left panel click on Windows and tick Use Gnome compositor.

edit: I found this solution in the LinuxMint-Italia forum
When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread.
User avatar
twa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:11 am
Location: Somewhere in the sky

Re: cairo dock errors

Postby kbkatz1 on Wed Mar 23, 2011 1:21 pm

I'm also using LMDE 32 bit and I can get Cairo-dock to work with the LiveDVD, just not on my system that LMDE is installed on.

@twa - thanks I'll check and post results.
Results: Installed libgl1-mesa-dri but nothing changed when I selected the Gnome Compositing box.
LMDE
LM17 "Quiana"
Peppermint 5
ClearOS Server
User avatar
kbkatz1
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 4:28 pm
Location: U.S.A

Re: cairo dock errors

Postby kbkatz1 on Wed Mar 23, 2011 9:26 pm

UPDATE: when I try to run cairo-dock through the Terminal I get "Segmentation fault" as an error. Also, when I run the command cairo-dock -c it will run but I really don't want to have a Terminal window open all of the time.
LMDE
LM17 "Quiana"
Peppermint 5
ClearOS Server
User avatar
kbkatz1
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 4:28 pm
Location: U.S.A

Re: cairo dock errors

Postby LongRider on Thu Mar 24, 2011 6:56 am

You can try Alt+F2 and enter:
cairo-dock -c
In the window that opens, see if that works.

Or, you could add it to your start-up apps. I believe if you right click on the dock there is an option to "add to startup programs" or something similar (i am not in front of my computer so I am trying to work from memory).
HP Pavillion DV7 laptop, AMD Turion X2/64, 250 GB HD, 4GB ram, Atheros AR5001 wifi, Cisco WRT54GS router, Buffalo Linkstation Quad 4TB NAS w/Raid 5, Dual Booting: LM9-64bit/Gnome + LMDE. Life is good!
User avatar
LongRider
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 4:40 pm
Location: Florida, New York, Texas (soon)

Re: cairo dock errors

Postby twa on Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:06 pm

kbkatz1,
sorry, my knowledge can't help further.
can U try DOCKY or AWN in lieu of ??
:(
When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread.
User avatar
twa
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:11 am
Location: Somewhere in the sky

Re: cairo dock errors

Postby LongRider on Thu Mar 24, 2011 8:44 pm

Curious, did you install cairo-dock using "Package Manager" or by some other means?
HP Pavillion DV7 laptop, AMD Turion X2/64, 250 GB HD, 4GB ram, Atheros AR5001 wifi, Cisco WRT54GS router, Buffalo Linkstation Quad 4TB NAS w/Raid 5, Dual Booting: LM9-64bit/Gnome + LMDE. Life is good!
User avatar
LongRider
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 4:40 pm
Location: Florida, New York, Texas (soon)

Re: cairo dock errors

Postby kbkatz1 on Fri Mar 25, 2011 8:33 am

cairo-dock was installed using Package Manager.
LMDE
LM17 "Quiana"
Peppermint 5
ClearOS Server
User avatar
kbkatz1
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 4:28 pm
Location: U.S.A

Re: cairo dock errors

Postby kbkatz1 on Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:14 pm

I can run it by using the "CTL+F2 option.... I guess that will have to do, it works.
LMDE
LM17 "Quiana"
Peppermint 5
ClearOS Server
User avatar
kbkatz1
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 4:28 pm
Location: U.S.A

Re: cairo dock errors

Postby samriggs on Thu Jul 28, 2011 1:03 pm

Anyone find a solution to get cairo dock to run on start up yet?
I just installed it on my wifes computer 64bit and mine 32bit, I tired to right click on cairo and launch at startup with no go, I tried to add it to the start up applications and after closing the startup applications window and opening it up again what I added disapearred
I tried using awn (had to add sid repos to get it) but I like cairo dock more so I rather use it instead.
I can live with clicking it to start it or adding it to the terminal to start it but it would be nice to get it going automatically.
I find it just weird that it dispears from the startup applications after I add it to it.

Thanks in advance
Sam
"Windows: the worst system for the most money, Linux: the best system for free"
Registered Linux User #545430
SolydK
User avatar
samriggs
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 843
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 6:09 pm
Location: Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests