k3b/k9copy cannot find dvd burner

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

k3b/k9copy cannot find dvd burner

Postby Linux n00b on Sun May 22, 2011 1:10 am

I just noticed when I try to use k3b/k9copy, it says "cannot find optical drive". I remember there was a recent k3b update. Does anyone experienced the same problem? Any way to fix it?
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits.
-- Albert Einstein
User avatar
Linux n00b
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:55 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: k3b/k9copy cannot find dvd burner

Postby chiefjim on Sun May 22, 2011 7:26 am

For the record, is the burner found during POST? Sounds silly to say but if you've been messing around inside the case recently make sure the connections are snug.
Desktop:
Mint-17 64 bit with Mate
Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
AMD Athlon II X3 425
CORSAIR 4GB DDR2 800
640GB HDD WD Black 7200rpm

Laptop:
Acer Aspire AS5552-5898
Mint-17 64 bit with Mate
AMD Phenom II Triple-Core N830
4GB Memory DDR3
500GB HDD 5400rpm
chiefjim
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:26 am
Location: South Texas, USA

Re: k3b/k9copy cannot find dvd burner

Postby Linux n00b on Sun May 22, 2011 9:01 am

There is nothing wrong with hardware. DVD play back works fine.
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits.
-- Albert Einstein
User avatar
Linux n00b
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:55 am

Re: k3b/k9copy cannot find dvd burner

Postby feffer on Sun May 22, 2011 7:10 pm

Both k3b and k9copy have config settings that point to the optical drive(s). You should check these. I think the optical devices are something like /dev/sr0, /dev/sr1. Sometimes there are aliases to these devices like cdrom1, dvd1, and so on. Look in your /dev dir to see. As way to check try this cmd:
Code: Select all
$ eject /dev/sr0
this should open the drive in question. Once you have the correct device name, make sure k3b and k9copy settings have these. Hope this helps.

feffer
feffer
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 7:49 pm

Re: k3b/k9copy cannot find dvd burner [fixed??]

Postby Linux n00b on Mon May 23, 2011 7:18 am

Well, magic. Just powered up my laptop today, and k3b/k9copy are back to work. There was absolutely nothing installed/changed setting.

I guess that was my laptop saying "I don't feel like working". When I found they stopped working, I really needed to do some copy (no, not movie). Today, I don't need to copy anything, and there they are back.
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits.
-- Albert Einstein
User avatar
Linux n00b
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:55 am

Re: k3b/k9copy cannot find dvd burner

Postby igsimon on Sun Aug 14, 2011 2:44 pm

I have this problem now - just loaded K3b today 14 Aug - Brasero sees DVD disk but K3B does not loaded blank disk - K3b does see burner in settings pannel :oops: - any ideas?

Note - it works with CDs(i just treid one) but does not see blank DVDs - now I am very confused
igsimon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 4:42 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests