How can I install Gnome Shell?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

How can I install Gnome Shell?

Postby xircon on Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:28 am

I would like to try it out, trying to build it (again!), but do not expect success. Can I install it from unstable on its own?

Cheers

Steve

PS build failed
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How can I install Gnome Shell?

Postby rob2uk on Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:38 am

You need to enable an experimental repo. They're a good way to break your system, but if you really want to risk it, add this to /etc/apt/sources.list:

Code: Select all
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian experimental main


Then enter the following command in terminal:

Code: Select all
sudo aptitude update && sudo aptitude install -t experimental -r gnome3-session


Good luck! :D
GA-965-DS3, Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz, 8GB DDR2, 2x1TB HDD, Linux Mint 11
Acer Aspire 5332, Pentium dual core 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR3, 500GB HDD, Linux Mint 11, Linux Mint Debian
Compaq CQ-60, Sempron 2.10GHz, 4GB DDR2, 120GB HDD, Tinycore 3.7rc2 (Minecraft server!)
rob2uk
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:44 pm

Re: How can I install Gnome Shell?

Postby xircon on Fri Jun 10, 2011 6:48 am

Breaks far too much, shame :( Abandoned.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: How can I install Gnome Shell?

Postby SebbyNC on Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:23 am

When I tried to install Gnome3 and Gnome-shell the first time, on my current system, it broke. However, It didn't break when I tried the install on a fresh, non updated install (straight install from the live DVD, no updates or upgrades). But I found Gnome-Shell lacked too many customization options for the moment, and I don't have enough to find out how to customize the desktop to my needs. Also, Gnome-Shell refused to start and fell-back onto the compatibility mode, probably because I didn't have support for 3D acceleration for my Nvidia graphics card (I used the Nouveau driver).

I you dare to try again, I would suggest to try from a brand new install without updating, verify you have 3D acceleration enabled in your graphics cards driver, and then install the Gnome3/shell stuff.
SebbyNC
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 9:06 am

Re: How can I install Gnome Shell?

Postby secipolla on Fri Jun 10, 2011 7:47 pm

It's working very well but you need an unstable/experimental system. See: http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=65263
secipolla
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 5:19 pm


Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests