ImageMagick [ SOLVED ]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

ImageMagick [ SOLVED ]

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:07 pm

Hi

I need several additional parts to ImageMagick but it will not install them, can anyone tell me why or what I am doing wrong. I am using aptitude to try and install them but all I get is the following

Some packages were broken and have been fixed:

libgdk-pixbuf2.0-dev [Not Installed]
libgtk2.0-dev [Not Installed]
libjasper-dev [Not Installed]
liblcms1-dev [Not Installed]
libmagick++-dev [Not Installed]
libmagickcore-dev [Not Installed]
libmagickwand-dev [Not Installed]
librsvg2-dev [Not Installed]

[ Ok ]

The one's that I am trying to install are

libmagick++-dev
libmagick++4
libmagickcore-dev
libmagickcore3
libmagickcore4
libmagickcore4-extra
libmagickwand-dev
libmagickwand3
libmagickwand4

As you can see from the lists some of them have install while others will not and I can't find libmagick++4 at all

Any help please :D :D
Last edited by Dar-es-Salaam on Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: ImageMagick

Postby Gerd50 on Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:10 pm

Hi Gordon,

which is your sources.list? For me it looks like latest testing? The pks you are trying to install are available in the testing repos.
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1
User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: ImageMagick

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:13 pm

Hi Gerd50

Yeah they are testing and I am on testing repo's but they won't install
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: ImageMagick

Postby Gerd50 on Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:34 pm

I tried it and you are right, there are unsolved dependencies. Did you try it with a quick change to the unstable repos or
any other variable of the sources.list?
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1
User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: ImageMagick

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:30 am

Hi Gerd50,

Yes I was on incomming repro to start with but switched back to testing but I haven't tried unstable. I will have to find the unstable repro's to try it
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: ImageMagick

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:12 am

Hi Gerd50,

Success, switching to unstable did the trick though I have probably done something wrong as I did a dist upgrade so that now everything is on unstable.
Will switching back to incomming and doing a dist upgrade again remove the files that i needed to install the program I wanted to use make it crash ? :D :D
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: ImageMagick

Postby Gerd50 on Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:21 pm

Hi Gordon,

uuuhhh, dist upgrade with unstable sources sharpened? I guess you have the chance now to check how stable LMDE sid is :lol:

I don't know what will happen if you switch back to incoming testing and run a dist-upgrade again. All i know is, there
are a lot of warnings that upgrades are possible, but downgrades are dangerous.

What i would do if it happened to me is, changing the sources.list completly to unstable. And wait until a experienced person
with this maybe gives green light for a downgrade :mrgreen:
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1
User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: ImageMagick [ SOLVED ]

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:55 pm

Hi Gerd50

What I suspected realy never mind unstable will have to do.

Thanks for all your help :D :D
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Re: ImageMagick [ SOLVED ]

Postby Gerd50 on Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:13 pm

Hi Gordon,

will your next step be experimental? :lol:

Ok, i wish you good luck with your sidified LMDE :D
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1
User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: ImageMagick

Postby secipolla on Fri Aug 26, 2011 4:10 pm

Dar-es-Salaam wrote:Will switching back to incomming and doing a dist upgrade again remove the files that i needed to install the program I wanted to use make it crash ? :D :D

No, but you can switch back to incoming and then you will probably stay a couple of weeks without much updates but later on you will enter the normal flow of updates.
secipolla
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 5:19 pm

Re: ImageMagick [ SOLVED ]

Postby Dar-es-Salaam on Sat Aug 27, 2011 2:26 am

Hi secipolla,

Thanks for that. I didn't know that I could do that being as I switched to unstable cheers :D :D
Cheers
Gordon :D

O/S. LMDE , Motherboard Asus A7N8X Delux , CPU AMD XP1500+ (1300Mhz) (overclocked running at 1866Mhz), Graphics Card GeForce Nvidia PNY 6200 (512 Meg), 2 40gig hard drives, 1 gig RAM
User avatar
Dar-es-Salaam
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:23 am
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, UK.

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests