Google Earth strange display

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Google Earth strange display

Postby fuherb on Thu Dec 08, 2011 10:57 pm

Hi,

I run into an issue when using Google Earth. I have LMDE, with intel display chips.

The issue is that the different segments (squares) of the satillate image do not match. So I may have 1 square showing California while the one next to it showing New York CIty. It seems that the display cannot respond quick enough to the changes. Any suggestions on what I can check?
fuherb
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:44 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Google Earth strange display

Postby fuherb on Fri Dec 16, 2011 10:13 am

Not sure if I made myself clear in the last post as I did not hear any suggestion.

I try to link here a screen capture image of the google earth display, you can see that N. America is kind of messed up.

Image

Hope this can generate some idea from you.
fuherb
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:44 am

Re: Google Earth strange display

Postby Gerd50 on Fri Dec 16, 2011 11:15 am

If you start Google Earth via terminal with the command googleearth, do you get error messages?

What you can try is install another GE version via deb package in order to see if it has the same error.
GE 5.1 is working proper in my LMDE. - http://gnome-look.org/content/show.php?content=124089 -
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1
User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: Google Earth strange display

Postby fuherb on Fri Dec 16, 2011 11:26 am

Starting GE via terminal gives the same problem, and no error message pops up.
The GE I installed is the Mint deb version in the repository.

I incline to believe that it is not GE that is having an issue, but the intel grahpic setup in xorg is having some compatibility issue here. But I do not know how to push forward.

Reinstalling another version will be the last resort in my list.

Thanks
fuherb
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:44 am

Re: Google Earth strange display

Postby Arran on Fri Dec 16, 2011 11:51 am

I have with a boring slow Connection (max 60 kib/sec) the version GE 6.0.3.2197, which works absolutely to my satisfaction.

I have it via
http://dl.google.com/linux/earth/deb/stable main

The word main is in Synaptic not in bold.
Best greetings from Scotlands nicest Holiday Isle
Image
OS: Mint12 KDE, Graphic: Nvidia I4800-GS, Monitor: HP LP2065, «Broadband» Ø 50kib/sec!!!
User avatar
Arran
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:24 am

Re: Google Earth strange display

Postby Gerd50 on Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:24 pm

That is what i thought, problems with 3D acceleration. IF GE installed via deb package brings the same issue, the suspicion
would be confirmed.

What do you get with

Code: Select all
lspci | grep VGA

and

Code: Select all
glxinfo | grep rendering
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1
User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: Google Earth strange display

Postby fuherb on Fri Dec 16, 2011 11:27 pm

Here are the outputs:

fuh@fuh ~ $ lspci | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
fuh@fuh ~ $ glxinfo | grep rendering
direct rendering: Yes
fuh@fuh ~ $

Seems OK.
fuherb
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:44 am

Re: Google Earth strange display

Postby Gerd50 on Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:48 am

Do you have desktop effects enabled and a very high cpu usage with this chip set? If so, disable desktop effects.

Then try to edit your /etc/X11/xorg.conf in order to get a better performance. In the subsection "Display" you should have
the entry "virtual". Minimize the defined resolution or delete the entry. Don't forget to save the xorg.conf before you edit it.
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1
User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: Google Earth strange display

Postby fuherb on Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:15 am

Thanks

I do not have any 3D graphics program activiated so I do not have high cpu usage.

Also, there is no xorg.conf file now as the system does not require one. I am not sure if I might create one manually to try to fix some setup?
fuherb
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:44 am

Re: Google Earth strange display

Postby Gerd50 on Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:11 am

hmm, what i wrote above is all i could find out about your chip set. I think create a xorg.conf manually is not a good idea.
That could end in a blackscreen. For now i have no idea how to get your GE work proper.
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1
User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: Google Earth strange display

Postby fuherb on Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:41 am

Thanks anyhow
fuherb
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:44 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests