[SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby iLobster on Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:45 am

As I can see from your chat, people, cinnamon 1.3 is not workable yet :)
Because it's boring just sit and read your test logs maybe someone could provide from time to time cinnamon builds and snapshots for LMDE amd64?
Share your fun, I'm jealous :wink:
iLobster
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:07 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby mockturtl on Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:12 am

iLobster wrote:As I can see from your chat, people, cinnamon 1.3 is not workable yet :)
Because it's boring just sit and read your test logs maybe someone could provide from time to time cinnamon builds and snapshots for LMDE amd64?
Share your fun, I'm jealous :wink:
1.3 is working. What you see in that last exchange is only the brittle config interface. The gnome tools behave very poorly; any typo will crash the session. cinnamon-settings will replace them.

I'll maintain links in this thread as we get improvements, you can count on that. :wink:

1.3 is here. If you need to try 1.2 for some reason, that's here (and please report the bug/crash in this thread).
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby msm on Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:00 am

mockturtl wrote:
iLobster wrote:As I can see from your chat, people, cinnamon 1.3 is not workable yet :)
Because it's boring just sit and read your test logs maybe someone could provide from time to time cinnamon builds and snapshots for LMDE amd64?
Share your fun, I'm jealous :wink:
1.3 is working. What you see in that last exchange is only the brittle config interface. The gnome tools behave very poorly; any typo will crash the session. cinnamon-settings will replace them.

I'll maintain links in this thread as we get improvements, you can count on that. :wink:

1.3 is here. If you need to try 1.2 for some reason, that's here (and please report the bug/crash in this thread).


Grabbed the Cinnamuffin file from the link - thanks! How do I install the tar.gz file?
msm
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:40 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby mockturtl on Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:50 am

msm wrote:Grabbed the Cinnamuffin file from the link - thanks! How do I install the tar.gz file?
Decompress the archive: right-click --> Extract here, or

Code: Select all
tar xvzf path/to/downloaded/file.tar.gz  # xvzf is "extract, verbose, gzipped, filename"


That will create a folder. Then install all the .deb files:
Code: Select all
sudo dpkg -i path/to/new/directory/*.deb
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby iLobster on Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:03 am

mockturtl wrote:I'll maintain links in this thread as we get improvements, you can count on that. :wink:

1.3 is here. If you need to try 1.2 for some reason, that's here (and please report the bug/crash in this thread).

Thanks!
Will report if found any.
iLobster
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:07 am

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby msm on Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:40 am

mockturtl wrote:
msm wrote:Grabbed the Cinnamuffin file from the link - thanks! How do I install the tar.gz file?
Decompress the archive: right-click --> Extract here, or

Code: Select all
tar xvzf path/to/downloaded/file.tar.gz  # xvzf is "extract, verbose, gzipped, filename"


That will create a folder. Then install all the .deb files:
Code: Select all
sudo dpkg -i path/to/new/directory/*.deb


Many thanks for your help!
msm
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:40 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby mockturtl on Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:14 pm

Cinnamon 1.3.1 Released

To upgrade from v1.3.0, you only need to install the cinnamon .deb file.

32-bit

64-bit

I found that the first time I used the new "Restore to default" button (cinnamon-settings --> Applets), the icons were a little messed up. When I restarted cinnamon (alt+F2, r), the desktop crashed (SFOD). No problems after the next login, though.
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby diazepan11 on Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:49 pm

mockturtl wrote:Cinnamon 1.3.1 Released

To upgrade from v1.3.0, you only need to install the cinnamon .deb file.

32-bit

64-bit

I found that the first time I used the new "Restore to default" button (cinnamon-settings --> Applets), the icons were a little messed up. When I restarted cinnamon (alt+F2, r), the desktop crashed (SFOD). No problems after the next login, though.


About the amd64 version, if you can't extract it, remove the .gz extension
diazepan11
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:05 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby zerozero on Mon Feb 20, 2012 10:43 pm

mockturtl wrote:
zerozero wrote:yeahh, was definitely a dconf syntax error, tried again yesterday to install your 1.3 build (not that much free time :evil: so for now i take the lazy way and
- at first it crashed :lol:
- after set the dconf entry to defaults i could login :D (to a blank panel again) but i couldn't run cinnamon-settings; if not the same the error is very similar to this one
Hm. I think that says cinnamon-settings is puking on one of its submenu icons.

Try this insertion at line 34:

/usr/lib/cinnamon-settings/cinnamon-settings.py
Code: Select all
class SidePage:
    def __init__(self, name, icon, content_box):
        print name  # Add this line.  That's eight leading spaces, no tabs: python will throw a fit.
        self.name = name
        self.icon = icon
        self.content_box = content_box
        self.widgets = []


Now, from a terminal, run:
Code: Select all
/usr/lib/cinnamon-settings/cinnamon-settings.py 2> /dev/null
(redirecting stderr to the black hole, to suppress all the Gtk-WARNINGs for "Theme parsing error" -- these are normal. It will also throw away your stack trace when the error happens, I guess. :().

You should see traced out the name of each submenu:

Code: Select all
Panel
Calendar
Overview
Themes
Effects
Applets
Extensions
Desktop
Windows
Fonts
That should tell us where the problem is, at least.

ok, recipe applied with your 1.3.1 amd64 build and the output is
Code: Select all
amadeu@amadeu:~$ /usr/lib/cinnamon-settings/cinnamon-settings.py 2> /dev/null
Panel
Trace/breakpoint trap


- lg is completely clean

- if i run cinnamon-settings through alt+f2 nothing happens

- if i run it in terminal i get this output
Code: Select all
cinnamon-settings

(cinnamon-settings.py:6242): Gtk-WARNING **: Theme parsing error: gtk-buttons.css:212:10: Expected valid border
/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gobject/constants.py:24: Warning: g_boxed_type_register_static: assertion `g_type_from_name (name) == 0' failed
  import gobject._gobject
Panel

(cinnamon-settings.py:6242): Gtk-WARNING **: Theme parsing error: gtk-widgets.css:11:28: Expected an identifier

(cinnamon-settings.py:6242): Gtk-WARNING **: Theme parsing error: gtk-widgets.css:11:28: Expected an identifier

GLib-GIO-ERROR **: Settings schema 'org.cinnamon' does not contain a key named 'menu-hover-delay'
Trace/breakpoint trap

again the same "Trace/breakpoint trap"
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6488
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby mockturtl on Tue Feb 21, 2012 2:03 am

zerozero wrote:ok, recipe applied with your 1.3.1 amd64 build and the output is
Code: Select all
amadeu@amadeu:~$ /usr/lib/cinnamon-settings/cinnamon-settings.py 2> /dev/null
Panel
Trace/breakpoint trap
Okay, I guess it's keeling over when Calendar loads? But below is definitely a problem.

Code: Select all
GLib-GIO-ERROR **: Settings schema 'org.cinnamon' does not contain a key named 'menu-hover-delay'
Trace/breakpoint trap
:shock: How'd that get messed up? The key is in there:

Code: Select all
$ grep -n 'menu-hover-delay' Cinnamon/data/org.cinnamon.gschema.xml
148:    <key type="i" name="menu-hover-delay">


Make sure that file is copied into /usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas/ (this should normally happen during the build process), and run

Code: Select all
glib-compile-schemas --dry-run /usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas &&  # safety check, in case something is hosed
glib-compile-schemas /usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas


As I understand it, that should rebuild the gobject structures for, uh, introspecting.

In my config, org.cinnamon has a menu-hover-delay of 0.

(Cool trick: instead of messing with dconf-editor, just use gsettings; you get tab completion.)

Code: Select all
gsettings set org.cinnamon menu-hover-delay 0


I hope that helps, it's not the same around here without ya.
Last edited by mockturtl on Tue Feb 21, 2012 2:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby mockturtl on Tue Feb 21, 2012 2:06 am

...and the only reason I know that much is because I was banging away on this all afternoon. :D

Cinnamon Weather (source)

Image
Last edited by mockturtl on Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby iLobster on Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:50 am

1.3.1 installed, thanks. No errors so far, only crashed once, but I think it's because of my video driver, not cinnamon.
mockturtl wrote:...and the only reason I know that much is because I was banging away on this all afternoon. :D
Cinnamon Weather (source)
Image

Doesn't work.
When I put files to local/cinnamon/extension folder "Weather" extension appears in menu, but there is no weather on desktop or panel. Terminal command fails (something not existed, didnt't remember what exactly)
After script "test" run is done, terminal commands work (city changed somewhere) but do nothing.

UPD: Ops, it's an applet, not an extension :D
Btw what is the difference?

UPD2: Applet appears on the panel but no weather still. Three dots and rounded arrow.
Look like there is no need for script -- applet appears in list if present in "applets" folder.

UPD3: It's working! :D Cinnamon restart (Alt-F2) helped. First impression -- need some space between blocks (city and its temperature/humidity/etc, today's weather and tomorrow).
iLobster
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:07 am

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby zerozero on Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:29 am

bhrr, i give up :mrgreen: can't fix it, somehow in the upgrading process that menu-hover-delay got lost and i believe that is where the problem lays: if i take the menu from the enabled applets all's fine, as soon as i put it there, all crashes :lol:

but...

after spending a all day fighting with this, i decided that i wasn't ready to let cinnamon go :wink: so i bumped one lmde-incoming partition to testing and
Image

of course everything is working fine (this new 1.3 series has a few interesting new features, the "everything is an applet" seems more stable [believe it or not i didn't touch once dconf-editor in this install]

if anyone's interested 20120222-64bit
(i just compiled cinnamon, i used mockturtl's muffins :lol:)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6488
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby GregE on Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:55 am

The Classic desktop layout ceased to function in the last builds of 1.2 and continues to be non-functional. You get top and bottom toolbars, but the bottom one is just a a blank bar. I have tried both ZZ's and Mock's builds - they are both the same.

My status area has jumped to the left, along with the Window List. It might be time to remove the cinnamon setting and start afresh.

Thanks for both your efforts. One function that is needed is a real calendar that can link to Evolution and Google Calendar like the Gnome one. Hopefully that is coming from upstream.

:)
User avatar
GregE
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby marathon on Wed Feb 22, 2012 10:13 am

GregE wrote:.... One function that is needed is a real calendar that can link to Evolution and Google Calendar like the Gnome one. Hopefully that is coming from upstream.
:)


Agree about the integration with Google Calendar. Isn't upstream in this case Linux Mint though?

BTW I'm puzzled how you've managed to get Cinnamon 3.1 installed. I can't get it installed due to a missing library that isn't even available in Debian Sid at this moment and I'm not on Sid but Wheezy. Still I looked in the Sid & Experimental repositories and that Library version that's needed for 3.1 isn't available. It's the evolution sync lib if memory serves.

Cheers.
User avatar
marathon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:32 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby zerozero on Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:22 am

Greg,
i don't know about the classic mode (don't really use it), but i remember seeing at github leigh123linux opening some issue(s) about it.

marathon,
all the deps required for installing or build cinnamon are available in debian;
make sure you have 2 things taken care:
- correct the pin priority so it all reads 700;
- specifically install libcairo2-dev from testing before start any build.

and now i noticed that the dynamic workspaces are gone (you can set the number in dconf, not yet in cinnamon-settings but i believe that is coming soon) and the expo-like animation is like this
Image
(ctrl+Alt+up key)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6488
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby dcihon on Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:43 am

When I try to install the 1.3.1 debs I am getting messages like this one:
Error: Dependency is not satisfiable: libmuffin0 (>= 1.0.1)
Kernel 3.2.0-3-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Distro Linux Mint Xfce Edition
ATI - Tracking - Testing
User avatar
dcihon
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Florissant, MO USA

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby zerozero on Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:52 am

Dan,
extract the right architecture from mock's post here
in that newly created folder, right click, open in terminal and
Code: Select all
sudo dpkg -i *deb
(you should have 6 debs in there, let dpkg do is work and if you find a missing dep report back
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]
zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6488
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby marathon on Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:28 pm

dcihon wrote:When I try to install the 1.3.1 debs I am getting messages like this one:
Error: Dependency is not satisfiable: libmuffin0 (>= 1.0.1)


Is it just me or is this forum slow as molasses?! Damn get an e-mail list going, Please!

Well I never got that far; Still looking for 'libecal1.2-10 (>= 3.2.2)'
User avatar
marathon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:32 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Postby marathon on Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:33 pm

zerozero wrote:
marathon,
all the deps required for installing or build cinnamon are available in debian;
make sure you have 2 things taken care:
- correct the pin priority so it all reads 700;
- specifically install libcairo2-dev from testing before start any build.



Well I'm sorry to refute you but they aren't, and I'm a very experienced Linux user. An unsatisfied dependency when attempting to install Cinnamon 1.3.1 on vanilla Debian Wheezy is libecal1.2-10 (>= 3.2.2) which isn't available in any official Debian repository as of last night. :)
User avatar
marathon
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:32 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
PreviousNext

Return to Software & Applications

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests